Emi Louanna

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
1,716,656
Carol Williams
Although I'm retired, I love sharing my knowledge and learning from other real estate industry professionals. - Wenatchee, WA
Retired Agent / Broker / Property Manager

You don't have time to fulfill your responsibilities to your buyers?  Find the time or recuse yourself!

Mar 13, 2020 05:22 AM
Rainmaker
520,651
Greg Cremia
Shore Realty of the Outer Banks - Nags Head, NC

This is exactly why agents should stick to their home turf!!

Mar 13, 2020 04:43 AM
Rainmaker
714,875
Brian L. Sirota, Esq.
Bristar Realty (Realtor/Attorney) - Orange, CA
For Solutions: (714) 501-7660

Emi, you can not waive an AVID in a conventional Cali transaction.  It's required of both seller's and buyer's agent.

A physical inspection by a 3rd party may be waived,  but that inspection is a completely different animal than inspection requirements of an AVID  or a Transfer Disclosure Statement (Seller).   You waive a physical inspection when you decline making it a condition of sale.

Also, a cash transaction has no impact on disclosure or inspection requirements other than removing the need of an appraiser.

Mar 13, 2020 02:54 PM
Rainmaker
1,860,314
Kat Palmiotti
406-270-3667, kat@thehousekat.com, Broker, eXp Realty - Kalispell, MT
Helping your Montana dreams take root

That's one of the reasons why working with a client outside of one's service area is not a good idea.

I don't know what the rules are in the CA area regarding visual inspections but if it's required you'll either have to make the trip or pay someone else to do it.

As a buyer's agent, I would not be doing my job if I had not personally seen the property. How can I represent my client properly if I don't know everything about that house? 

Mar 13, 2020 05:19 AM
Rainmaker
1,217,169
Thomas J. Nelson, REALTOR ® e-Pro CRS RCS-D Vets
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
& Host of Postcards From Success Podcast

Brave of you to admit here, sadly... unprofessional of you to have done.

Cash buyers has nothing to do with an AVID, they are required on all transactions in CA essentially. Put Client needs before REALTOR needs; I'm sorry I take issue with agents that act transactionally and work outside of their area of expertise.

AVID's are mandatory, which is why you refer business rather than take business irresponsibly out of your service area. How can you possibly advise your clients on a property hundreds of miles away?

I sold in NorCal and now in SoCal and I would never try to close a deal up there for a buyer from here, even though I know that market.

 

Mar 13, 2020 06:06 PM
Rainmaker
5,535,959
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Emi,

You are in for heaps of trouble doing that, and I agree with what Carol Williams stated!  When we had our commercial real estate firm on the Westside of Los Angeles, we turned down listings in the San Fernando Valley, which is by Freeway 5 miles away.  A

Mar 13, 2020 10:04 AM
Ambassador
4,560,528
Jeff Dowler, CRS
eXp Realty of California, Inc. - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

Talk to your broker - the AVID (Agent Visual Inspection Disclosure) is specific to CA and required with some limited exceptions.

I have to wonder why you are trying to represent a buyer buying so far away where you can't do your job, rather than referring them to someone who can.

Mar 13, 2020 07:25 AM
Staff
138,801
ActiveRain Member Support
Seattle, WA

This is exactly the kind of question you should be asking your broker and not a national forum of agents who have no familiarity with local rules and customs.

Your state license law and liability issues are most likely going to dictate what has to be done, not the opinions of agents from out of state.

Mar 13, 2020 05:37 AM
Ambassador
3,038,616
Kathleen Daniels, Probate & Trust Specialist
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
Probate Real Estate

Oh boy ... enjoy your 12 hour round trip ride.  

Mar 13, 2020 08:54 AM
Rainmaker
538,994
Greg Large
ERA Real Solutions - Grove City, OH
A Tradition of Trust

If you don't have the time to perform basic duties, you should think about how much time and money could be spent in court.

Mar 13, 2020 07:57 AM
Rainmaker
889,195
Candice A. Donofrio
Next Wave RE Investments LLC Bullhead City AZ Commercial RE Broker - Fort Mohave, AZ
928-201-4BHC (4242) call/text

So NO ONE has seen this property? Buyers or buyer's agent?
LOL 
'Gee, what could go wrong there?'
To answer your Q directly, I would in your position get with broker and possibly even attorney to sign buyers to not just a waiver of the visual inspection, but to hold you harmless should they subsequently discover something material and adverse. 
And I agree with ARMS. This is a 'broker/legal' Q! 
I also agree with anyone/everyone (haven't checked yet) who says/said why not just refer this?

Mar 13, 2020 06:06 AM
Rainmaker
1,717,394
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg Real Estate

Wow another acronym ...... you should do a walk thru with your buyers.

Mar 13, 2020 05:43 AM
Ambassador
2,584,657
Wanda Kubat-Nerdin - Wanda Can!
Red Rock Real Estate - St. George, UT
So Utah Residential, Referral & Relocation REALTOR

You need to make time to represent your clients fully and show reasonable care, especially if it is a requirement to visually inspect the property.

Yet, another good reason to avoid practicing real estate outside of a selling area, in my opinion!

Mar 13, 2020 05:35 AM
Rainmaker
4,167,248
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

Never heard of an AVID. If it is a CA requirement, make the trip and represent your customer.

Mar 13, 2020 04:56 AM
Rainmaker
875,127
Peter Mohylsky. Broker -BRIX REALTY
Miramar Beach, Florida - Santa Rosa Beach, FL
BRIX REALTY -DESTIN

I am not sure what an avid is.  I have never heard that term. 

Mar 13, 2020 04:45 AM
Ambassador
5,366,515
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, EXP - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Do your responsibilities change when a buyer has cash?  Your responsibility is to your client, not their lender.

Mar 13, 2020 01:53 PM
Rainmaker
6,555,024
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

Follow your local rules and the policies of your broker. 

If you are not willing to protect the best interests of your client, you should seek assistance from a local agent.

Mar 13, 2020 11:27 AM
Rainmaker
1,381,523
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

I'm in So Cal as well.  This is best to discuss with your Broker how to proceed.

 

If it wasn't for the virus, I'd suggest making a weekend out of it and stopping off in wine country or carmel, or if far enough north going to Oregon (weather permitting).

Mar 13, 2020 10:09 AM
Rainmaker
1,149,509
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

absolutely. Required for closing compliance.  That includes brand new home with builder form.

Mar 13, 2020 06:13 AM
Rainmaker
1,876,654
Bob "RealMan" Timm
Ward County Notary Services - Minot, ND
Owner of Ward Co. Notary Services, retired Realtor

I agree with Wayne Martin . Hopefully you learn from this experience and start making use of referrals in the future.

Mar 13, 2020 05:25 AM
Rainmaker
846,420
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

It could be worth spending 12 hours on. It's all part of the game.

Mar 13, 2020 12:35 PM
Rainmaker
640,913
Tony Lewis
Summit Real Estate Group - Valencia, CA
Summit Real Estate Santa Clarita & Aliso Viejo

I would

Mar 14, 2020 03:15 PM