Tony Lewis, Summit Real Estate Group Valencia & Aliso Viejo (Summit Real Estate Group)

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
1,320,110
Thomas J. Nelson, REALTOR ® e-Pro CRS RCS-D Vets
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
& Host of Postcards From Success Podcast

I ignore it, I write in my buyers' choices and I counter back when they try to counter my services out. Buyer's right to choose in SoCal per civil code. I just won't let them take that choice from my clients.

Nov 08, 2020 10:49 AM
Ambassador
3,060,003
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

I have no idea what you are talking about.

Nov 08, 2020 10:35 AM
Rainer
135,204
Jerrill Ewing
N & J Lake Properties, LLC - Eatonton, GA
Builder

I live in an attorney state where the attorney is picked by the buyer or lender, says so right in the contract.

Nov 08, 2020 02:51 PM
Ambassador
2,717,002
Wanda Kubat-Nerdin - Wanda Can!
Red Rock Real Estate Brokered by Real - St. George, UT
So Utah Residential, Referral & Relocation REALTOR

This must be state specific...has no bearing here.

Nov 08, 2020 11:58 AM
Rainmaker
923,920
Candice A. Donofrio
Next Wave RE Investments LLC Bullhead City AZ Commercial RE Broker - Fort Mohave, AZ
928-201-4BHC (4242) call/text

It doesn't mean anything  . . . but if seller is an investor and getting a volume discount, I get it and are happy to oblige if it is doable and the title company is not a hack.
IF my BUYER is ALSO an investor entitled to a volume discount and we go with seller's title company, I will call and ask them if they can offer the same to buyer . . . and they always agree.

Nov 08, 2020 11:57 AM
Ambassador
3,351,560
Anna Banana Kruchten CRS, Phoenix Broker
HomeSmart Real Estate BR030809000 - Phoenix, AZ
602-380-4886

Good luck with that......

Nov 08, 2020 11:00 AM
Rainmaker
860,815
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

Buyer has right to select their own service providers here.

Nov 08, 2020 10:41 AM
Rainmaker
1,022,188
Doug Dawes
Keller Williams Realty Evolution - Topsfield, MA - Georgetown, MA
Your Personal Realtor®

How do you know that?

Nov 08, 2020 05:15 PM
Rainmaker
4,212,524
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

People can ask "anything" how one responds makes a difference and depending on the circumstances the response can certainly vary.  

Nov 08, 2020 03:23 PM
Rainmaker
1,413,374
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

Doesn't bother me one bit.  What bothers me are escrow companies secretly controlled by Keller Williams!  They have independent sounding names but don't disclose the ownership (and thus lack of impartiality) until you're well into escrow.

Nov 08, 2020 02:20 PM
Rainmaker
385,257
Shayne Stone
HomeSmart - Fulshear, TX
"Your Rock Solid Choice Realtor"

Never heard of SSS on our MLS in Texas!!!

Nov 08, 2020 01:11 PM
Rainmaker
976,852
John Juarez
The Medford Real Estate Team - Fremont, CA
ePRO, SRES, GRI, PMN

I would inquire with the listing agent as to who it was who truly selected the service provider. I assume we are not talking about escrow and title services but inspections.

The party who pays for the services can select the services. Seller can select and provide inspections, for instance, and, as required in California, provide them to a buyer. The buyer can, if desired, order and pay for additional inspections from a different provider and, of course, provide them to the seller.

I always tell my clients that they can select the service providers since they are paying and they have always, except in one case, deferrred to me to make the selections. In that case, after receiving and reviewing the report from an out of area inspector, my client asked if I would order an additional report form a service provider with whom i was familiar.

If we are talking about closing and title insurance services, there could be RESPA consequences.

Nov 08, 2020 12:28 PM
Rainmaker
4,334,754
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

I have no clue what SSS is. 

Nov 08, 2020 12:04 PM
Ambassador
3,119,464
Kathleen Daniels, Probate & Trust Specialist
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
Probate Real Estate

We do not have SSS in my area.  In NorCal and in my county specifically, Santa Clara County, Seller makes the choice of title and escrow. 
That said, we all know our contracts are negotiable. If a buyer would attempt to counter it out we would look at it closely and the seller would make an informed decision regarding how to proceed. 

Nov 09, 2020 07:29 AM
Rainmaker
4,415,405
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

At risk of possible censure I have to agree with Pete Xavier

Nov 09, 2020 04:20 AM
Ambassador
2,000,636
Kat Palmiotti
406-270-3667, kat@thehousekat.com, Broker/REALTOR® - Kalispell, MT
Helping your Montana dreams take root

Social Security Services? Silly Spaghetti Spirals? What is SSS?

Nov 08, 2020 05:44 PM
Rainmaker
2,669,063
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

Gets the subject out in the open. Everything in Real Estate is negotiable

Nov 08, 2020 03:02 PM
Rainer
291,501
Don Baker
Lane Realty - Eatonton, GA
Lake Sinclair Specialist

we give buyers a list to pick from for services relating to the closing and they can chose from the list or not.  But closing attorney is in the contract as a buyer choice.

Nov 08, 2020 02:58 PM
Rainmaker
9,762
Larris Hutton
Linchpin Property Management - Fayetteville, NC
Property Management Company in Fayetteville, NC

I don't know what SSS is, but the agent works for the seller.

Nov 08, 2020 02:05 PM
Ambassador
3,343,781
Chris Ann Cleland
Long and Foster Real Estate - Gainesville, VA
Associate Broker, Bristow, VA

Aren't buyer choices really agent choices too when you get down to it?  in 15 years of selling real estate, only two client knew who they wanted to use as a title company.

Nov 08, 2020 01:16 PM
Rainmaker
5,764,585
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Tony,

It means nothing...

Nov 08, 2020 11:28 AM
Rainmaker
838,612
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

Not sure what "services" are in question here, presume closing companies? In CT, we are an attorney state, the sellers and buyers select their own attorneys to do the closings. The attorneys choose title companies (and get a large percentage of the fee, BTW). Buyers select their banks, inspectors and so on. If agents recommend any of the services, they need to present several choices (usually at least three) for the clients' selections, so as not to appear biased.

Nov 09, 2020 04:24 AM
Rainmaker
908,413
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

Sellers AND buyers like choices.
This is only a problem for those agents working with brokerages that limit choices.  I would rather suggest the choices available than for the consumer to create their list based on reality TV.
This is tied directly to my question earlier about iBuyr and what you can observe on Realtor.com    CHOICE that excludes the real estate agent.

Nov 09, 2020 04:36 AM
Ambassador
5,612,375
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, EXP - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Seems like a foolish thing to put on a listing.

Nov 09, 2020 10:01 PM
Ambassador
4,419,370
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
The right Charlotte REALTOR!

If I'm representing the buyer, I want THEM to select the services and the seller to pay!

It's a little more effort to get multiple bids from various trades but, WELL worth it in the end.

Nov 09, 2020 06:40 PM