Anonymous

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
639,468
Candice A. Donofrio
Next Wave RE Investments LLC Bullhead City AZ Commercial RE Broker - Fort Mohave, AZ
928-201-4BHC (4242) call/text

I don't know where you are, but in AZ, a septic system needs to be certified and pumped during a real estate transaction. If financing, lender will likely require it.

Again not knowing where you are, it is customary in AZ for the seller to provide the septic cert. It can be negotiated that the buyer pays for it -- in a lot of foreclosure transactions they do.

No matter who pays for it, you need to have it done.

The good news is that a 25 year old septic system can be perfectly functional, and conversely, a two year old septic system may not pass muster.

You need to hire a qualified certified septic contractor to go over your system with a fine-toothed comb and make sure it is fine no matter the remaining terms of your contract. It is quite important.

ALSO, how big is your lot? How close is the tank to a well or swimming pool? Or the next door neighbor's fence? If that septic was to fail, is there room to install another septic & leach field?

Again, these are important questions for a qualified professional to figure out.

Dec 12, 2018 03:54 PM
Ambassador
2,820,448
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

If I were buying a house with a septic system I'd ask for a clean out and pumpers report from the seller.  That being said I have lived in homes with septic tanks for most of my life... since I was 9 years old and never had an issue at any of them.  Not planting trees for roots to get in the drain field and not not flushing thing not appropriate for septic tanks is key to a maintence free system

Dec 12, 2018 03:23 PM
Rainmaker
1,445,120
Bob "RealMan" Timm
Tivoli Custom Homes - Minot, ND
Bob Timm, Project Coordinator for Tivoli Homes

Absolutely, the last septic system one of my clients installed was $30,000.

Dec 12, 2018 04:36 PM
Rainmaker
3,082,764
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

Since we do not know your location, check with your trusted real estate agent( yours, not the listing agent).  Private sewage disposal systems in our area should be tested, pumped(if necessary) and certified). The costs are negotiatble but should be a part of your inspection duty/ due diligence time period.   Again, check with your local real estate representative for specific details to ensure this is handled properly. Good luck.

Dec 12, 2018 05:15 PM
Ambassador
2,952,827
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
Charlotte Homes for Sale - Charlotte Neighborhoods

Absolutely! Separate inspection by a company who specializes in septic systems.

Also, have the sellers request that it be cleaned out while they are there to inspect it. It's cheaper to do it now than wait until after Closing. (You'll have to pay a separate service call fee if you do it later.)

Dec 12, 2018 05:05 PM
Ambassador
2,316,085
Fred Griffin presently on Leave of Absence
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

 Pumped.

 Inspected, including the drain field, and the pipe from the house.

 Also, check with city/county building department or health department to make sure it is grandfathered in.  In some cities in Florida (including northeast Tallahassee, and south of Tallahassee in Wakulla County), the government is forcing people onto central sewer systems.  That can be VERY expensive.

Dec 12, 2018 03:49 PM
Rainmaker
2,710,044
Kathleen Daniels
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
San Jose Homes for Sale-Probate & Trust Specialist

It would be wise and prudent to have it inspected by a local and reputable company. 

Dec 12, 2018 04:33 PM
Rainer
511,230
Steve Higgins
RE/MAX Kelowna - Kelowna, BC

Yes have it pumped and inspected.

Dec 12, 2018 04:05 PM
Ambassador
2,851,176
Margaret Rome, Baltimore Maryland
HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400 - Pikesville, MD
Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome

HAVE IT INSPECTED! And yes I meant to shout. I also prefer having a master plumber check the septic system.

Dec 12, 2018 03:21 PM
Rainmaker
4,652,786
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Franklin, MA
"Franklin MA Homes"

in MA, the seller is required to provide a title 5 certificate that says the septic system is in good working order....

find out what your state laws are.... a septic company does the inspection....you MUST have it done.... the life of a system is usually 20-25 years....depending on how well it was maintained...

Dec 12, 2018 03:04 PM
Rainmaker
150,799
Joseph Domino 480-390-6011
HomeSmart - Scottsdale, AZ
Real Estate Made Easy

If you were my client I would advise having the septic pumped and inspected by a competent company.

If not too late I would also make your contract contingent on the results of the inspection.

Dec 12, 2018 02:43 PM
Rainmaker
701,579
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

It's good to get it inspected. Inlet and outlet T's, seals, access caps should be looked at, and distribution box should be dug up and inspected. Sometimes a dye test will be done to check drain field. Tank should not be pumped until after it's inspected. it's also a good idead to go to health dept and get copy of file which should show history of any repairs, location of drain field, etc.

Dec 12, 2018 04:06 PM
Rainmaker
2,770,635
Nina Hollander
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor

Absolutely you need a septic inspection.

Dec 13, 2018 04:28 AM
Rainmaker
827,279
Anthony Acosta - ALLATLANTACONDOS.COM
Harry Norman, REALTORS® - Atlanta, GA
Associate Broker

Yes, have the septic tank inspected and ask when was the last time it was serviced. Request documentation.

Dec 12, 2018 09:28 PM
Ambassador
1,534,193
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

I hope you are using a good agent because you have no awareness of contractsd and inspections. You also might need to consult with what your lender requires.

Dec 12, 2018 07:04 PM
Rainer
201,166
J.R. Schloemer, CRS
Kentucky Select Properties - Louisville, KY

Look at what Candice A. Donofrio responded with.

My short answer is YES!

Dec 12, 2018 05:11 PM
Ambassador
890,343
Frank Rubi
Frank Rubi Real Estate, LLC - Metairie, LA
FrankRubiRealEstate.com

Here in my State, it requires to pass inspection, also it is needed the inspection, to have the power turned on. So have it inspected and cleaned. 

Dec 12, 2018 04:43 PM
Ambassador
3,812,779
Jeff Dowler, CRS
Solutions Real Estate - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

Depends on your state laws as far as certification is concerned - it might be required for the seller to do this. Pumping and inspection are highly recommended. Talk with your Realtor!

Dec 12, 2018 04:36 PM
Rainmaker
2,368,611
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

Yes to haveing it inspected and by a company who does these things

Dec 12, 2018 04:28 PM
Rainmaker
599,221
John Juarez
The Medford Real Estate Team - Fremont, CA
ePRO, SRES, GRI, PMN

My advice is to ask your real estate agent...assuming you have an honest professional guiding you in your purchase.

Failing that...the advice from other agents who have answered your question here are unanimous.

Dec 12, 2018 04:06 PM
Rainmaker
967,394
Valeria Mola
SIB REALTY - Sunny Isles Beach, FL
305-607-0709 SIB Realty

Yes

Dec 12, 2018 03:42 PM
Rainmaker
4,363,384
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

Yes. I have had many septics system tests fail inspection

Dec 12, 2018 03:21 PM
Rainmaker
937,465
Kevin J. May
Florida Supreme Realty - Hobe Sound, FL
Serving the Treasure & Paradise Coasts of Florida

If you're obtaining financing for this purchase you'll probably need to have it certified by a licensed & reputable company anyway. When you're kind to it there should be no problems.

Dec 13, 2018 02:11 AM
Rainmaker
1,177,492
Carol Williams
U.S.: I specialize in helping agents who have been in the business 2 years or less create a thriving business. - Wenatchee, WA
"Customized Mentoring & Marketing Services"

YES!  Absolutely.  Things are not always as they "appear".  

Dec 12, 2018 09:37 PM
Ambassador
2,110,191
Wanda Kubat-Nerdin - Wanda Can!
Prado Real Estate South - St. George, UT
So Utah Residential, Referral & Relocation REALTOR

Hey to the yeah! Talk to your agent about certified inspectors/ reputable septic companies and go from there.

 

If you hired one, that is...

Dec 12, 2018 05:45 PM
Rainmaker
3,895,912
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

I would be asking for the system to be certified to county specks

Dec 12, 2018 04:59 PM
Rainmaker
1,314,489
Kat Palmiotti
Grand Lux Realty, Monroe NY, 914-419-0270, kat@thehousekat.com - Monroe, NY
The House Kat

Almost all houses in my area have private septic systems. Sometimes buyers want them tested, sometimes not. They often want them to be cleaned out. If you want a septic inspection and cleanout, those items should be specified in the offer.

Dec 12, 2018 04:46 PM
Rainmaker
1,458,734
Mike Cooper, GRI
Cornerstone Business Group Inc - Winchester, VA
Your Neighborhood Real Estate Sales Pro

In our area, it's always good to ask for a septic inspection and a clean out. That will reveal most issues. 

Dec 12, 2018 04:21 PM
Rainmaker
4,095,524
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Absolutely!

Dec 12, 2018 02:48 PM
Rainer
7,442
Sallyanne Holmes
Merit Co Inc - Colorado Springs, CO
GRI, MRE, Probate Specialist, REDivorceS

yes, yes and yes.  I don;t know where you are located but in El Paso County - Colorado the seller has to have the septic checked, certified and if necessary pumped prior to closing - not the buyer - by law, the seller.  Also sometimes you have a well with septic - if you do have a water flow check done and potability i.e. drinkability of the water.  But do have that septic checked either way

Dec 13, 2018 09:47 AM
Rainmaker
739,562
Kasey & John Boles
Jon Gosche Real Estate, LLC - BoiseMeridianRealEstate.com - Boise, ID
Boise & Meridian, ID Ada/Canyon/Gem/Boise Counties

Yes absolutely have a septic company pump and inspect. -K

Dec 13, 2018 07:38 AM
Rainmaker
1,478,720
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
Realty National - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

The age of the property should have no bearing on your positive choice for a septic inspection. We have had recentl;y built homes with septic systems that failed their inspections. We saved our buyers Thou$$sand$$!

Dec 13, 2018 06:35 AM
Ambassador
1,583,227
Alan May
Coldwell Banker Residential - Evanston, IL
Helping you find your way home.

Yep... inspect, inspect, inspect.

I would use a company that services/installs septic systems.  Ask around to find "reputable" companies that aren't going to be self-serving.

Dec 13, 2018 05:55 AM
Rainmaker
473,899
Peter Mohylsky, 850-517-7098
Gulf Place @ 30A - Santa Rosa Beach, FL
Your Bucket List Broker

Get it inspected and serviced. 

Dec 13, 2018 04:25 AM
Ambassador
1,216,060
Susan Emo
Sotheby's International Realty Canada - Brokerage - Kingston, ON
Kingston and the 1000 Islands Area

Any home with a septic system, we include a condition for pump out and inspection at the Sellers expense.  You don't want to buy a home full of another persons stuff do you?  And, if there is a problem, a septic system can cost upwards of $30K to replace - YIKES!

Dec 13, 2018 03:48 AM
Rainmaker
744,213
Diana Zaccaro
Tropical Realty Beachside brokered by eXp - Cocoa Beach, FL
Your Brevard County, Florida coastal connection!

Your agent should be able to answer all your questions and be familiar with local businesses who can do this.

If you don't have an agent, please get one to write the offer and look out for your best interests. If you plan to go it alone, at a minimum get a real estate attorney to review the proposed offer and any counteroffers and related documents.

Dec 12, 2018 11:15 PM
Ambassador
1,828,588
Hannah Williams
Re/Max Eastern inc. - Philadelphia, PA
Expertise NE Philadelphia & Bucks 215-953-8818

Absolutely I believe some states have a separate addendum for a septic system ... If it needs to be replaced it may be very costly

Dec 12, 2018 05:59 PM
Rainmaker
2,573,503
John Pusa
Berkshire Hathaway Home Services Crest - Glendale, CA
Your All Time Realtor With Exceptional Service

Many good responses.

Dec 12, 2018 03:38 PM
Rainmaker
1,167,357
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
www.HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

We don't have septic in my part of the world.  I'd say for any type of inspection make sure the inspector knows that someone else will do the remediation.  That way they don't write their own meal ticket.

Dec 13, 2018 09:58 AM
Rainmaker
1,458,308
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg IL Real Estate

Yes & also have the well water tested by the county.

Dec 13, 2018 05:50 AM
Rainmaker
2,849,443
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of Manchester NH's Leading Agents

YES it is a must. They can easily check the leach field, the tank and the baffles. 

Dec 13, 2018 05:12 AM
Rainmaker
2,713,457
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

I would

Dec 13, 2018 05:07 AM
Rainmaker
576,080
Brenda Mayette
Miranda Real Estate Group, Inc. - Glenville, NY
Getting results w/ knowledge & know-how!

Septic systems are standard fare in our market... I'd definitely encourage you to have it inspected.  My "go to" inspector does not install new systems so I know there's no hidden agenda with him.  Don't be afraid of the system; just don't abuse it!  ;0

Dec 13, 2018 04:44 AM
Rainmaker
5,018,544
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

Yes.

Dec 13, 2018 04:39 AM
Ambassador
3,784,697
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, Keller Williams fox cities - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

What does your agent advise?

Dec 12, 2018 10:18 PM
Rainmaker
930,747
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

If it is that old it spells trouble or EOL.

Yes a report. Often I can spot it looking at evidence of leaking, vegetation from organic fertilizer.

Dec 12, 2018 08:32 PM
Rainmaker
973,588
Corinne Guest
Barrington Realty Company - Barrington, IL
Barrington Lifestyles

Depends where you are. Here the seller has to provide a septic inspection per our contracts. Yes they are carried out by septic inspection companies. Your agent should know what's done in your area. It's better to do the inspection prior to any pumping! 

Dec 13, 2018 02:48 PM
Rainmaker
4,691,473
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

Yes.  Absolutely.  It should be done by a septic inspector.  

Dec 13, 2018 06:00 AM
Rainmaker
1,131,189
Donald Urschalitz
One World Realty Inc. - Jupiter, FL
P.A. Realtor ABR RSPS North Palm Beach County

Yes Yes Yes that could be an expensive replacement.

Dec 13, 2018 05:20 AM
Rainmaker
2,982,315
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

Yes have it inspected and pumped given the age!

Dec 13, 2018 04:47 AM
Rainmaker
361,595
Joshua Frederick
Home Inspector for ASPEC Residential Services, LLC - Defiance, OH
Home Inspector in Defiance & all of Northwest Ohio
Rainmaker
3,880,930
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

In Denver if there is a septic system Tri-County needs to put their "seal of approval" on it too.

Dec 17, 2018 07:47 AM
Rainmaker
2,891,412
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

Yes for sure.

 

Dec 15, 2018 07:13 PM
Rainmaker
704,436
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

ABSOLUTELY!!! I live in an area of septics and it's a standard inspection item, in fact one that sellers of older homes often fear the most. Professional septic inspection company should do the work. They will give you the real picture, they are not at all assured of being the ones to be selected to do the work if any is needed. It might be as simple as replacing a cap for example, that is no longer to code, or a recommendation to have it pumped (should be done before closing, but not before inspection). However, if the 25 yo system is at risk for failing or there are other serious issues with its aging structure, to replace a septic system is very costly, could be up to $35K or more, depending on size and soil, so PLEASE  have the inspection to find out  the condition of the system.

Dec 14, 2018 08:43 AM