Spam prevention
Rainmaker
4,855,392
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

I ask them to sign a form that they do not want an inspection.  I also have them sign a form if they do not wish to do a final walk through prior to closing.

Jul 20, 2016 05:05 AM
Rainmaker
1,840,486
Lyn Sims
Schaumburg, IL
Real Estate Broker Retired

Sign here on this paper saying you do not want a home inspection even though it's for your own benefit.

Jul 20, 2016 06:09 AM
Rainmaker
2,219,617
Anthony Acosta - ALLATLANTAcondos.com
Harry Norman, REALTORS® - Atlanta, GA
Associate Broker

I would make sure I have it in writing with their signature on it. 

I had this happen to me and I had the buyer sign an amendment to the contract saying that I had suggested the buyer conduct a home inspection and buyer decided not to have one. After closing, their was an issue with the home and the seller said I had told him not to have a home inspection.  I reached in my file pulled out the signed amendment and sent a copy to his attorney.  That was the end of the complaint.

Jul 20, 2016 10:05 PM
Rainer
352,976
Teri Pacitto
Compass - Westlake Village, CA
Real Estate, Your Style...Your Home...My Specialty

I have them read and then sign a California Association of Realtors form known as Buyers Inspection Waiver. The few times I've had Buyers not want an inspection was if they were tearing the house down to rebuild or if they were licensed contractors and have completed their own due diligence and new homes.  I always have a discussion with them to make sure they fully understand why they should have an inspection and if they decline we don't move forward unless they sign the BIW. 

Jul 20, 2016 02:13 PM
Ambassador
1,447,169
Susan Emo
Sotheby's International Realty Canada - Brokerage - Kingston, ON
Kingston and the 1000 Islands Area

I will insert into the offer the following:  The Buyer has been advised to have a Home Inspection and is proceeding without the benefit of same.  

 

It is happening more and more these days rather than the reverse.  There is very little an Inspector will discover that wasn't obvious to the Buyer.

Jul 20, 2016 07:09 AM
Rainmaker
1,390,113
Wayne Zuhl
Remax First Realty II - Cranford, NJ
The Last Name You'll Ever Need in Real Estate

Caveat emptor.

You can lead a horse to water, but.....

I agree with others who have said you need a signature indicating that they're waiving their rights.

Jul 20, 2016 06:23 AM
Rainer
216,904
Sharon Altier
Coldwell Banker Realty - Elmhurst, IL
Luxury Property Specialist, CSC, SFR

Make sure you have, in writing, the recommendation that they have an inspection.  I am sure your local realtor board has some pamphlet about it.  Then, make sure they advise you, in writing, that they are waiving this.  Their attorney should be advised and copied as well.  Highly recommended to get an inspection. 

Jul 20, 2016 06:03 AM
Rainmaker
2,809,749
Dick Greenberg
New Paradigm Partners LLC - Fort Collins, CO
Northern Colorado Residential Real Estate

Hi Debbie - We've only had savvy and experienced investors do that a couple of times, and we still worried.

Jul 20, 2016 05:22 AM
Ambassador
5,033,773
Jeff Dowler, CRS
eXp Realty of California, Inc. - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

I let them know they are acting against my professional advice and have them sign a waiver. Same for the walk-through

Jul 20, 2016 05:06 AM
Rainmaker
280,549
Jeanne Gregory
RE/MAX Southwest - Sugar Land, TX
The most important home I sell is YOURS!

Sign here.  The only buyer I ever had to do that was  an agent in another state.  She knew it all. 

Jul 20, 2016 04:55 AM
Rainmaker
1,466,207
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Debbie Holmes If they are adamant, have them sign a waiver.

Jul 20, 2016 04:43 AM
Rainmaker
4,434,127
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

Have them acknowledge it in writing.

Jul 20, 2016 09:39 PM
Rainmaker
3,071,489
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

sign here.... "Buyer was encouraged and declined......"

Jul 20, 2016 08:56 PM
Ambassador
6,359,738
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, KW Diversified - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Have them sign a CYA statement and then move forward.

Jul 20, 2016 07:19 PM
Rainer
321,564
Melissa Jackson REALTOR
Trinity Premier Properties - Azle, TX
Helping You Make The Right Move

Make sure you have them sign the correct document after you explain the purpose of the inspection.  It happens.

Jul 20, 2016 04:12 PM
Rainmaker
4,319,419
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Debbie Holmes - just make sure you have it in writing! You can insist on having the home inspection - if they don't want to do it, its their wish.

Jul 20, 2016 03:30 PM
Rainmaker
2,224,473
Debbie Laity
Cedaredge Land Company - Cedaredge, CO
Your Real Estate Resource for Delta County, CO

I have a form for them to sign and I recommend a home inspection. I call it a fact finding mission on the house. It will tell them things that even the seller may not know. 

Jul 20, 2016 01:59 PM
Rainmaker
5,772,353
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Debbie,

I agree with Richard Weeks about signing a form re not wanting an inspection, after strongly advising them not to do that. A

Jul 20, 2016 01:34 PM
Rainmaker
146,555
Damon Botticelli
Silver State Realty & Investments - Las Vegas, NV
Realtor - Las Vegas Real Estate

"I strongly recommend you get a home inspection.  If you really don't want one, sign here which states I strongly recommended it and you chose not to."

Jul 20, 2016 12:56 PM
Rainmaker
3,988,007
Debbie Reynolds, C21 Platinum Properties
Platinum Properties- (931)771-9070 - Clarksville, TN
The Dedicated Clarksville TN Realtor-(931)320-6730

I tell them I strongly advise them they should have one done and ask some questions why they don't think they need one. If they won't budge I will require a waiver to be signed on the home inspection.

Jul 20, 2016 12:52 PM
Rainmaker
909,068
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

If they are experienced with construction, i wouldn't care. i would just ask them to sign a form showing that I suggested they do a home inspection.

Jul 20, 2016 08:47 AM
Rainmaker
1,513,143
Raymond E. Camp
Ontario, NY

I do the same as Richard Weeks 

Jul 20, 2016 08:17 AM
Rainmaker
2,776,231
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

You are going to go on an adventure as things become known about your house after you purchased it. I hope you can handle the ride

Jul 20, 2016 08:12 AM
Ambassador
2,679,799
Fred Griffin Florida Real Estate
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

Sign this disclosure that says you have been warned.

Jul 20, 2016 07:50 AM
Rainmaker
1,498,868
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

My buyer for the house I blogged about the other day waived their inspection.  There is a BIW (Buyer's Inspection Waiver) form that the fill out.

Jul 20, 2016 07:46 AM
Rainmaker
519,324
Dan Tabit
Keller Williams Bellevue - Sammamish, WA

Debbie, 

I say, "that's always your decision. I'll have you sign off on this form that you were advised to get one by me, but have elected not to."  

In my very hot market, buyers are having to do pre-inspections or waive inspections to compete. It's scary sometimes, but it's there choice. My bigger fear is when they hire an "inspector" who doesn't have a clue what they are doing.  A bad inspection can be worse than none sometimes.  

Jul 20, 2016 07:46 AM
Rainmaker
400,356
Jill Murty, Realtor - Orange County, CA
Movoto - Laguna Niguel, CA

I would tell them it is absolutely not in their best interest to skip a home inspection.  A home inspection simply helps buyers understand what they're buying.  It does not mean they have to ask for a pile of repairs.  

Jul 20, 2016 07:12 AM
Rainmaker
1,157,785
FN LN
Toronto, ON

Discuss then have them sign the board provided form.

Jul 20, 2016 06:15 AM
Rainmaker
232,359
Debbie Holmes
John L. Scott - Boise, ID
Gets the job done!

I know that the first thing I do is tell them horror stories at what the inspector found.  After 10 years in the business I have plenty of war stories.   If that doesn't work I make them sign a waiver.  My partner's good friend bought a property off him and refused a inspection.  We offered to pay for it (since they were good friends and we thought it was important).  He said the VA appraiser would catch everything.   Well the roof was bad and the appraiser did not catch it and in the first year of home ownership the client needed a new roof.

 

Jul 20, 2016 05:38 AM
Rainmaker
152,561
Chrissi Chapman Topoleski
Coldwell Banker Realty - Woodbridge, VA
Helping agents live an exceptional life!

I've only had one client (other than investors) do this, and I highly recommended against it. They had lost out on many properties due to multiple offers and they were desperate for a house.

 

Jul 20, 2016 04:49 AM
Rainmaker
987,352
Jennifer Mackay
Counts Real Estate Group, Inc. - Panama City, FL
Your Bay County Florida Realtor 850.774.6582

I have them sign a document that I recommended it and they opted out

Jul 20, 2016 11:11 PM
Rainmaker
849,841
Brenda Mayette
Miranda Real Estate Group, Inc. - Glenville, NY
Getting results w/ knowledge & know-how!

Please sign here...  (inspection waiver form)

Jul 20, 2016 10:27 PM
Rainmaker
5,195,150
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

I get it in writing along with my suggestion that they opt for a home inspection!

Jul 20, 2016 10:15 PM
Rainmaker
5,096,566
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

I tell them why they should and if they still decline, I have them sign a waiver showing that I recommended and they waived the inspection.

Jul 20, 2016 10:08 PM
Rainmaker
7,795,854
Roy Kelley
Retired - Gaithersburg, MD

They can make their own decision.

Jul 20, 2016 09:35 PM
Ambassador
3,727,581
Patricia Kennedy
RLAH@Properties - Washington, DC
Home in the Capital

That it's a really, really bad idea. 

Jul 20, 2016 03:41 PM
Rainmaker
2,443,200
Evelyn Johnston
Friends & Neighbors Real Estate - Elkhart, IN
The People You Know, Like and Trust!

That isn't something that comes up at the last minute.  I go over this at the very first meeting.

Jul 20, 2016 02:01 PM