Lyn Sims, Schaumburg Real Estate (RE/MAX Suburban)

Spam prevention
Ambassador
2,463,243
Fred Griffin Tallahassee Real Estate
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

That little thin board is really going to stop that concrete retainer wall from collapsing.   There is nothing like DIY!

Dec 28, 2015 02:10 PM
Ambassador
3,695,541
Patricia Kennedy
RLAH Real Estate - Washington, DC
Home in the Capital

I actually had an inspector point out a similar wall in a really cute house that had been renovated by the structural engineer seller.  There was a tree root on the other side of the wall.  My buyers got out of the deal during the inspection contingency period.  Whew!

Dec 28, 2015 12:16 PM
Rainmaker
1,085,866
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

I saw a 1912 home used before a fraternity home with broom sticks supporting the flooring in the basement.  No nails.

The buyer said what happens to the house after a wild party?  

Dec 28, 2015 06:28 AM
Rainmaker
4,432,850
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

That is a scary photo. I would be scared to show that house.

Dec 28, 2015 08:25 PM
Rainmaker
3,195,799
James Dray
Fathom Realty - Bentonville, AR
Exceptional Agents, Outstanding Results

Good morning Lise.  Well that would be a deal killer for sure.  Like Michael Thronton said it would cost more than what its worth..

Dec 28, 2015 07:48 PM
Ambassador
2,759,037
TeamCHI - Complete Home Inspections, Inc.
Complete Home Inspections, Inc. - Brentwood, TN
Home Inspectons - Nashville, TN area - 615.661.029

 Good morning Lyn. I have seen this a few times myself. Very scary. We're talking tens of thousands of dollars to fix.

Dec 28, 2015 05:15 PM
Ambassador
3,272,430
Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®, CRS
Fathom Realty Washington LLC - Tacoma, WA
South Puget Sound Washington Agent/Broker!

I have to agree !!

Dec 28, 2015 03:27 PM
Ambassador
2,209,455
Debbie Laity
Cedaredge Land Company - Cedaredge, CO
Your Real Estate Resource for Delta County, CO

That is a problem that is going to happen. Agents and home inspectors really see some pretty amazing things. 

Dec 28, 2015 02:55 PM
Rainmaker
1,826,627
Lise Howe
Keller Williams Capital Properties - Washington, DC
Assoc. Broker in DC, MD, VA and attorney in DC

That is HORRIBLE! 

Dec 28, 2015 12:21 PM
Rainmaker
1,523,810
Sybil Campbell
Long and Foster REALTORS® 5234 Monticello Ave Williamsburg, Virginia - Williamsburg, VA
REALTOR® ABR, SFR, SRES Williamsburg, Virginia

I enjoy reading the blogs from several of the home inspectors here as well, but I've never seen a picture like this!

Dec 28, 2015 11:56 AM
Ambassador
4,705,953
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, Keller Williams Fox Cities - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Thanks for the laughs Lynn, I actually bought a home with a basement like this for 7k about 20 years ago.  Jacked it up replaced the basement and sold it to a friend who loves it.

Dec 28, 2015 10:21 AM
Rainmaker
559,214
David Gibson CNE, 719-304-4684 ~ Colorado Springs Relocation
Colorado Real Estate Advisers LLC - Colorado Springs, CO
Relocation, Luxury & Lifestyle residential

Lyn,
I sure can’t top that one and hope I never do.

Dec 28, 2015 08:55 AM
Rainmaker
140,418
Joan Dickie
Keller Williams Premier Realty - La Crosse, WI
Keller Williams Premier Realty

I've never had a nightmare home inspection as hopefully we have seen the most obvious nightmares during the showing.  I've just had nightmare showings of homes.  There was one home that I opened the front door, closed the door and let the clients away.  The smell almost knocked me off my feet.

Dec 28, 2015 08:39 AM
Rainmaker
686,859
Hella Mitschke Rothwell
(831) 626-4000 - Honolulu, HI
Hawaii & California Real Estate Broker

Love the way they tried to fix it. What a bulge. Wonder if it's mentioned on the property disclosure?

Dec 28, 2015 07:58 AM
Ambassador
1,770,455
Noah Seidenberg
Coldwell Banker - Evanston, IL
Chicagoland and Suburbs (800) 858-7917

Wow Lyn, I could not stop, I viewed every photo. That cat security system got me laughing.

Dec 28, 2015 07:54 AM
Ambassador
2,304,451
Belinda Spillman
Aspen Lane Real Estate Colorful Colorado - Aurora, CO
Colorado Living!

That is terrible.  Looks like the wall will crumble at anytime.  

Dec 28, 2015 07:01 AM
Rainmaker
3,168,664
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of the Manchester NH's area Leading Agents

I will check them out, that looks like a wall one of my REO listings had a year back, it was a disaster and the buyer knocked it down.

Dec 28, 2015 06:59 AM
Rainmaker
1,313,279
Raymond E. Camp
Howard Hanna Real Estate Services - Ontario, NY
Licensed Real Estate Salesperson Greater Rochester

I have seen a few homes just like that here!

The worst one was a vacant home with no power and five feet of water in the basement.

 

Dec 28, 2015 06:43 AM
Rainmaker
634,116
Kathleen Luiten
Resort and Second-Home Specialist - Princeville, HI
Kauai Luxury Ocean Home Sales

That's a scary photo, Lyn! I or another team member always attends inspections. Sometimes an extra set of eyes notices something that would otherwise be overlooked.

Dec 28, 2015 05:05 AM
Rainmaker
5,830,269
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

I recall carefully going down the steps in a dark basement and my foot went into water as the basement was fully flooded.

Dec 28, 2015 04:34 AM
Rainmaker
1,301,342
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

Wow!  Scary picture!  I too enjoy the inspection nightmare blogs.

Dec 29, 2015 05:57 AM
Rainmaker
4,344,987
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

I too enjoy reading the inspector posts and what they find on a daily basis.

Dec 28, 2015 10:46 PM
Rainmaker
3,064,754
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

Brave photographer

Dec 28, 2015 10:02 PM
Rainmaker
3,650,431
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

Lyn - Like Noah Seidenberg I looked through the link you provided -- scary stuff -- I wonder what the seller disclosures look like.   

Dec 28, 2015 10:01 PM
Rainmaker
1,588,228
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Lend Smart Mortgage, Llc. - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

YIKES! Run AWAY!

Dec 28, 2015 09:40 PM
Rainmaker
3,463,835
Nina Hollander
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor

Now that is an interesting picture! Thankfully, I haven't come across one of these in one of my inspections.

Dec 28, 2015 08:55 PM
Rainmaker
806,537
Candice A. Donofrio
Next Wave RE Investments LLC Bullhead City AZ Commercial RE Broker - Fort Mohave, AZ
928-201-4BHC (4242) call/text

16 is the best! Eeeeeek!

Dec 28, 2015 09:15 AM
Rainmaker
220,334
LuxurySoCalRealty Compass San Diego
Compass - La Jolla, CA
San Diego Partner - The Private Client Network

Lyn Sims it's the individual specialists that are worst, irrigation, drain lines, the roofer, mold, pool, and of course the pest man

Dec 28, 2015 07:44 AM
Rainmaker
720,501
Peter Mohylsky. The Santa Rosa Beach Expert
PrimeSouth Properties - Santa Rosa Beach, FL
THE BEACH IS OPEN

Home inspectors are a love hate relationship.  I love that they can be very through.  I hate the way the write things up occasionally.  I try to get a prebrief prior to getting the report so I am better prepared to answer any questions,  

Dec 28, 2015 07:24 AM
Rainmaker
80,153
Linda Guess
Keller Williams Tri-Lakes Branson, MO - Branson, MO
Branson area real estate sales.

That house is very scary.  One inspection I had on new construction, the heating contractor must not have met the scheduled date.  He broke the roofing trusses apart to install his heating.  Then the heavy tile roof was installed. 

Dec 28, 2015 07:21 AM
Ambassador
3,985,140
Debbie Reynolds
Platinum Properties - Clarksville, TN
Your Dedicated Clarksville TN Real Estate Agent

I don't need an inspector to tell me that this house is scary and has major structural problems. I wouldn't have a buyer that would ever make an offer on that.

Dec 28, 2015 07:14 AM
Rainmaker
796,957
Liz Wallace
Century 21 Sherlock Homes - Rockville Centre, NY
Broker C21 Sherlock Homes, Rockville Centre, LI, N

I have learned a lot at home inspections.  I can't believe some Agents don't attend the inspection.

Dec 28, 2015 04:49 AM