Lyn Sims, Schaumburg Real Estate (RE/MAX Suburban)

Spam prevention
Ambassador
4,659,512
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, Keller Williams Fox Cities - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

I dont know the correct answer to this debate, but I do avoid those homes that require the removal of my shoes.

I also avoid those little teasers that I get from inman since they always lead to disappointment when I am required to pay an unreasonable feee to read the rest of the story.

Dec 26, 2015 02:33 AM
Rainmaker
3,064,103
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

7. Update listing info promptly

9. Leave clear broker remarks and instructions

23. Send complete contracts

Agreed!

Dec 26, 2015 09:26 PM
Rainmaker
3,446,944
Nina Hollander
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor

I don't mind taking shoes off, but personally, I hate those booties! Anyway, who ever said that courtesy was commong in any event?

Dec 26, 2015 07:07 PM
Rainmaker
634,116
Kathleen Luiten
Resort and Second-Home Specialist - Princeville, HI
Kauai Luxury Ocean Home Sales

Here on the islands taking your shoes off is standard. I have provided booties because some people prefer not to remove their shoes. I just want people to be comfortable seeing the home and the owners to be happy they didn't track sand or Kauai's famous red dirt through the house!

Dec 26, 2015 05:16 PM
Rainmaker
3,002,591
John Pusa
Berkshire Hathaway Home Services Crest - Glendale, CA
Your All Time Realtor With Exceptional Service

Lyn Sims Very good question. Once my client refuse to remove the shoes and preview the house.

Dec 26, 2015 12:09 PM
Ambassador
3,985,028
Debbie Reynolds
Platinum Properties - Clarksville, TN
Your Dedicated Clarksville TN Real Estate Agent

I will check out the article. I have plenty of extra booties in my car as part of my real estate supplies so I am prepared.

Dec 26, 2015 12:00 PM
Rainmaker
536,820
Mark Don McInnes, Sandpoint
Sandpoint, ID
North Idaho Real Estate - 208-255.6227

LMAO!  How do you really feel about it Lyn.  I will second your answer to the agents concerns.  Mark

Dec 26, 2015 07:59 AM
Ambassador
3,694,579
Patricia Kennedy
Redfin - Washington, DC
Home in the Capital

I read that.  It's got some good stuff in it.

Dec 26, 2015 07:25 AM
Rainmaker
799,286
Candice A. Donofrio
Next Wave RE Investments LLC Bullhead City AZ Commercial RE Broker - Fort Mohave, AZ
928-201-4BHC (4242) call/text

HERE IT IS, for those who don't subscribe to Inman (I figured SOMEONE would have posted it, TYVM!)
8. This past week, 2 VA-financed offers on a property that the listing remarks SO CLEARLY that Ray Charles coulda seen it, EXPLICITLY state 'CASH ONLY' as terms.
19. I cannot BELIEVE how many agents answer the phone 'HULLO'.
23. Brokers are just as bad at this as new agents.

And I would cry with joy if agents would just CONFIRM RECEIPT of a document without being asked. This is a communications business, and if you can't be bothered . . .  30.  :D

Dec 26, 2015 06:26 AM
Rainmaker
4,798,469
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

Hi Lyn, I'd love to see the article but since I'm not a member I can't read it.  And, I really don't want to pay for a membership.

Dec 26, 2015 05:09 AM
Rainmaker
3,405,650
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

Booties always in my car because you never know.

Dec 26, 2015 04:37 AM
Rainmaker
175,414
Spirit Messingham
Tierra Antigua Realty - Tucson, AZ
Third Generation Full-Time Realtor® 520 471-6900

Great article, wish more agents would be considerate when showing properties.

Dec 26, 2015 04:24 AM
Rainmaker
1,523,810
Sybil Campbell
Long and Foster REALTORS® 5234 Monticello Ave Williamsburg, Virginia - Williamsburg, VA
REALTOR® ABR, SFR, SRES Williamsburg, Virginia

I think sellers that are that picky about the showing of their house definitely need to provide the booties.

Dec 26, 2015 03:16 AM
Rainmaker
2,869,619
Kathleen Daniels
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
San Jose Homes for Sale-Probate & Trust Specialist

I carry booties in my car.  I will only remove shoes in homes that I know well ... or I know are clean.

I will almost always wear booties even when I am not asked to do so.

Dec 26, 2015 02:43 AM
Rainmaker
212,605
Stefan Winter
Real Estate in IL & NV | Owner of Real Estate Web Tech | Daily Vlogger - Las Vegas, NV
Owner - Winter Group & Real Estate Web Tech

I saw that one in my email a few days ago, it is a great article.

Dec 26, 2015 02:36 AM
Rainmaker
4,316,467
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

Thanks for the article, and will get over to read it now.  I always have booties in my car! 

Dec 26, 2015 10:59 PM
Rainmaker
4,432,726
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

Thank you for the link.

Dec 26, 2015 10:11 PM
Ambassador
2,758,931
TeamCHI - Complete Home Inspections, Inc.
Complete Home Inspections, Inc. - Brentwood, TN
Home Inspectons - Nashville, TN area - 615.661.029

 Good morning Lyn. I will have to check the site out. Thank you.

Dec 26, 2015 05:33 PM
Ambassador
4,306,122
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Lyn Sims - great article (and I think it's for SELECT members only.)

Bring your own booties is surely a great idea. (though listing agent also should do the best to provide the booties.)

Dec 26, 2015 03:27 PM
Rainmaker
1,823,692
Lise Howe
Keller Williams Capital Properties - Washington, DC
Assoc. Broker in DC, MD, VA and attorney in DC

Great article. 

Dec 26, 2015 10:44 AM
Rainmaker
80,103
Linda Guess
Keller Williams Tri-Lakes Branson, MO - Branson, MO
Branson area real estate sales.

I have no problem removing my shoes.  That is small stuff for me.  It is the big things that are important.

Dec 26, 2015 10:34 AM
Rainmaker
5,772,444
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

Thanks for telling us about this article.

Dec 26, 2015 07:23 AM
Rainmaker
220,284
LuxurySoCalRealty Compass San Diego
Compass - La Jolla, CA
San Diego Partner - The Private Client Network

Lyn Sims was being on time for showings in there?  I'm constantly late but it's hard to control some clients.  One time we were on time waiting outside the Rancho 6 showings scheduled and client decided he and wife needed to have a sit down lunch inside.  Umm... how embarrasing!

Dec 26, 2015 04:44 AM