Special offer

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
4,319,773
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Burlington, MA
Metro Boston Homes For Sale

Well, John Helmick they may have to wait - I guess!

Feb 18, 2015 01:12 PM
Rainmaker
1,683,912
Larry Johnston
Broker, Friends & Neighbors Real Estate and Elkhart County Subdivisions, LLC - Elkhart, IN
Broker,Friends & Neighbors Real Estate, Elkhart,IN

Usually the inspector goes up on the roof and brushes away the snow to see the condition of a small area.  They also go into the attic to see if there are an signs of dampness or leakage....and of course there is the Sales disclosure that indicates how old the roof is.

Feb 18, 2015 11:17 AM
Rainer
279,878
Dipti Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
On a team with Praful Thakkar

It happens.

Jun 27, 2018 09:35 PM
Rainmaker
630,251
Ajay Pandya
e-Merge Real Estate Unlimited - Columbus, OH
Realtor Ajay Pandya

It is a challenge for sure.

Feb 13, 2018 11:11 PM
Rainmaker
674,787
Scott Seaton Jr. SLS Home Insp
SLS Home Inspections-Kankakee Will Iroquois Grundy Counties - Bourbonnais, IL
The Home Inspector With a Heart!

I do it exactly as Larry mentioned above. Then I will spend any amount of time needed in the attic to see anything leaky or wet looking.  

Feb 19, 2015 12:05 AM
Rainmaker
2,245,775
Andrew Mooers | 207.532.6573
MOOERS REALTY - Houlton, ME
Northern Maine Real Estate-Aroostook County Broker

Home inspections are so uncommon in small rural areas where Dad is a roofer, Uncle Bob is called Sparky for his electrical prowess and how he makes a living. Hands on savy and DIY means keep those roofs cleared of snow and everyone is jack of all trades not highly specialized in just one area. The appraiser makes notes about winter snow if not a metal roof that whooshes on it's own. And notes no sign of leaking inside.

Feb 18, 2015 11:00 PM
Rainmaker
1,029,939
Ritu Desai 703-625-4949
Samson Properties - Chantilly, VA
Northern Virginia,Washington DC & Maryland Realtor

We extend the roof inspection especially if the roof is old. Otherwise the inspector will inspect from the attic.

Feb 18, 2015 10:37 PM
Rainmaker
5,878,261
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

I have an inspection notice we are working on right now, and had snow Monday.   Have to wait until it is safe to get on the roof before we can answer.   Sometimes this can be difficult this time of year!  

Feb 18, 2015 10:26 PM
Rainmaker
2,224,473
Debbie Laity
Cedaredge Land Company - Cedaredge, CO
Your Real Estate Resource for Delta County, CO

I'm just really thankful I don't have to do that. 

Feb 18, 2015 12:37 PM
Rainmaker
3,986,308
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

My inspector will very carefully clear several spots and give a partial judgement

Feb 18, 2015 11:39 AM
Rainmaker
2,443,250
Evelyn Johnston
Friends & Neighbors Real Estate - Elkhart, IN
The People You Know, Like and Trust!

They don't have them and put a disclaimer in the home inspection.

Feb 18, 2015 10:37 AM
Ambassador
6,419,499
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, KW Diversified - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Many just mention in the report that they were unable to examine the roof.

Oct 26, 2019 10:24 PM
Rainmaker
4,800,132
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

Good question.

Jan 29, 2018 05:51 AM
Rainmaker
3,071,489
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

Good question

Jun 19, 2017 05:07 AM
Rainer
26,352
John Helmick
John Helmick Success & Ohio Property Inspection Services - Dayton, OH
Realtor Personal Growth/Success Coach

Praful Thakkar - haha!  ESPECIALLY this year, eh?

Feb 19, 2015 12:29 AM