Spam prevention
Rainmaker
472,992
Bill Dandridge
MKB, Realtors - Roanoke, VA
GREEN, ABR, GRI, EcoBroker

Absolutely! Oftentimes, I am the one who needs to tamp down any emotions that surface as a result on an inspection. There are some inspectors who are a bit too alarmist in the reports, and I need to understand what the inspector is reporting in order to help my clients in the understanding of the reports.

Jan 09, 2015 02:54 AM
Rainmaker
457,437
Shannon Milligan, Richmond VA Real Estate Agent/Associate Broker
RVA Home Team - Richmond, VA
RVA Home Team - Winning with Integrity.

An inspector made a comment to me one time how he was impressed that I attend all the inspections. I looked at him like he was crazy and he informed me many agents will unlock the door and leave. I can't imagine that. First, I am responsible for the house since I unlocked it. Second, if there is a major problem, it is much easier for me to understand and explain if I saw it first hand. Finally, that is one of the best times to spend with a client, makiing the relationship more solid. I think that time is priceless. 

Jan 09, 2015 08:47 AM
Rainer
73,293
Devin Veith
Amp Realty - Louisville, KY

I think it is important to be at the home inspections.  It is professional and it comforts the buyer also.

Jan 09, 2015 12:03 AM
Rainmaker
1,318,263
Joan Whitebook
BHG The Masiello Group - Nashua, NH
Consumer Focused Real Estate Services

I make it clear to the buyer that I am NOT an inspector.  I will attend the inspection and I will listen in.  However, I keep my mouth shut and let the inspector do their job.  

Jan 09, 2015 11:35 AM
Rainmaker
1,080,788
Ginger Harper
Coldwell Banker Sea Coast Advantage~ Ginger Harper Real Estate Team - Southport, NC
Your Southport~Oak Island Agent~Brunswick County!

Absolutely,

 

House inspectors can kill a deal if you are not there to help the buyer to understand the report..

 

Jan 09, 2015 11:15 AM
Rainer
55,251
Ranee Bray
TCP Real Estate - Cedar Park, TX
North of Austin Homes

Yes!  Not just for client representation... but it's not their house yet!  They shouldn't be left in the home without an agent for any length of time.

Jan 09, 2015 12:05 PM
Rainmaker
786,030
Claude Labbe
RLAH / @properties - Washington, DC
Realty for Your Busy Life

I didn't know there was an option.

Yes, I will be there (if I can't, which would be rare, I'd have another colleague from the office).

Several reasons:

a) to ensure and help buyer understand what is going on

b) to ensure that I hear/understand what inspector is saying

c) to protect the seller's interest (I wouldn't want buyer & inspector in someone's home alone)

Jan 09, 2015 10:59 AM
Rainmaker
544,892
John Mosier
Realty ONE Group Mountain Desert - Prescott, AZ
Prescott's Patriot Agent 928 533-8142

Christina Botteri -- Wow! you really nailed a good process. My favorite inspector is Randy West. He prefers no one follow him around while doing the inspection but will go over his findings with me and my Buyer Clients. He also makes an inspection report that later serves as an "Operating Manual" for the home.

Joan Cox -- Having the Sellers and the Buyers present during inspections is a recepie for disaster. Buyers pick the inspector and pay for his work. Letting the Sellers be present would be the Buyer's call and would not be negotiable.

Jan 09, 2015 10:54 AM
Rainmaker
98,442
Jimmy Williams
Keller Williams Elite Partners IV - Mount Dora, FL
Lake and Western Orange County Real Estate Expert!

I for one like to be present, especially if the buyer is there.  I want to be the first to know of any defiencies found by the inspector.

Jan 08, 2015 11:30 PM
Rainmaker
71,500
Jacki Tait, CLHMS
Realty ONE Group Mountain Desert - Flagstaff, AZ
Finding Your Place in Flagstaff, Arizona

Whenever my buyers will be at the home inspection, so will I.  Agents who don't meet their buyers at an inspection are missing the opportunity for enhancing/solidifying the relationship with their clients - but most importantly, they miss the opportunity to know what the buyers know.  That knowledge proves to be valuable when negotiating repairs.  If the buyers elect not to be present, then I don't feel the need to be, either.  I'll have the inspector call me when finished and go over any key points that will be in the report.

Jan 08, 2015 11:29 PM
Rainmaker
613,494
Eve Alexander
Buyers Broker of Florida - Tampa, FL
Exclusively Representing ONLY Tampa Home Buyers

If the buyers rep  is a true buyers agent who cares about the fiduciary duties owed to the buyer than they need to be there so that they can see for themselves the issues.  You cannot adequately represent the buyer if you were not there.  Sending someone else is OK only if there is absolutely no other option.

However if you are one of those fake buyers agents who just use the term "buyer agent" loosly, but don't really represent, then sure...don't go...or send someone that has a license but knows nothing about the transaction.

Eve

Jan 10, 2015 02:43 AM
Ambassador
2,417,488
Kat Palmiotti
eXp Commercial, Referral Divison - Kalispell, MT
Helping your Montana dreams take root

Yes, when I'm the buyer's agent, I tell my buyers that they definitely need to be there, and I attend as well.  It's important that we all hear the same thing at the same time so questions can be asked and we're all on the same page.

Jan 09, 2015 09:33 PM
Rainmaker
1,027,602
Susan Haughton
Long and Foster REALTORS (703) 470-4545 - Alexandria, VA
Susan & Mindy Team...Honesty. Integrity. Results.

Absolutely.  Have never missed one and not only do I need to understand first hand what the inspector finds, I agree with Renee, the buyers should not be left alone in the house. 

Jan 09, 2015 12:28 PM
Rainmaker
196,080
Jill Moog
Coast & Country Homes and Estates, Inc. - Carlsbad, CA
Carlsbad, CA Homes for Sale

I always attend property inspections and encourage the buyers to attend as well. I want them to hear directly from the inspector. The written reports w/photos are good but sometimes things need to be explained in person so they can see exactly what the inspector meant.

I don't think the seller should be there for the buyers inspection.

Jan 09, 2015 11:10 AM
Rainmaker
665,139
AJ Heidmann ~ CRS
McEnearney Associates, Inc. - Alexandria, VA
YOUR Alexandria & Arlington, VA Real Estate Expert

ALWAYS!  That is my answer to the question.  In my ten years, I have only missed 1 home inspection... I was getting married.  I want to be there so that I can speak with the inspector as we go to understand how important each item that ends up on the report is.  It also helps to see how the buyer reacts to items found so that they can be put into perspective.

Jan 09, 2015 06:17 AM
Rainmaker
921,504
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

What Bill said!

A smart listing agent will also be there. Inspector reported 240 line with hazardous receptacle connection. "Wow, show this to me please."  I pushed the plug from the stove into the receptacle with the toe of my foot. Looked at the buyer and advised they need to be careful.  They, not their agent, had a true 'deer in the headlights' expression.

Don't leave your clients to the consequences of an inspector gone goofy.

Jan 09, 2015 03:35 AM
Rainmaker
668,065
Scott Seaton Jr. SLS Home Insp
SLS Home Inspections-Kankakee Will Iroquois Grundy Counties - Bourbonnais, IL
The Home Inspector With a Heart!

If the house is vacant, many times the agents show up at the end. If occupied, I insist there be someone besides me and the buyer at the house. We don't want to be blamed if Aunt Stella's urn of ashes is knocked off the mantle by a cat they left roaming around. 

Jan 10, 2015 12:40 AM
Rainmaker
532,758
Ricki Eichler McCallum
CastNet Realty - Corpus Christi, TX
Broker,GRI,ABR, e-Pro, TAHS

Hi Christina,  I do it the very same way.  I dont leave anything to chance.

Jan 09, 2015 11:07 PM
Rainmaker
4,434,127
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

I always attend the home inspection. I learn a lot from attending as I can ask questions .

Jan 09, 2015 09:50 PM
Rainmaker
3,415,644
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of the Manchester NH's area Leading Agents

The buyer agent SHOULD be there, it is part of the buying process and one of the most stressfull that can kill a deal. They need first hand info. to be able to know the true extent of anything found.

Jan 09, 2015 09:26 PM
Rainmaker
4,319,419
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Suzie Townley goes without saying, it's always a good idea to have someone from buyer's side to be there at home inspection.

Jan 09, 2015 02:23 PM
Rainmaker
2,443,200
Evelyn Johnston
Friends & Neighbors Real Estate - Elkhart, IN
The People You Know, Like and Trust!

In Indiana it is required to have a repesentative agent for the buyer and the seller unless it is a foreclosure/REO.  The Buyer will still need an agent, but the bank doesn't.

Jan 09, 2015 11:07 AM
Rainer
87,383
Christina Botteri
REeBroker - Roseville, CA

A strategy that works well for my clients is to have me meet the inspector at the property, with the understanding that the Buyers will be there at the end.

I'll let the inspector in, get them set up, and then leave them alone to do their work.

I return in about 1.5hrs (on average - the inspectors will tell me), and get a quick preview of their findings.

Then, the Buyers arrive, and the inspector gives an overview of his findings.  We (the inspector and I) encourage the Buyers to ask questions if there is anything they don't understand.

In some cases, the inspector will deliver the report right then and there; in others, the report is emailed the next day.  In either event, even if there's bad news, there are no surprises, so we can focus on working through the issues.

---> Mind you, the list of inspectors I offer my clients have spotless reputations, are personal referrals, and/or have worked with me before (i.e. are not kooky).

Jan 09, 2015 07:03 AM
Rainmaker
4,800,082
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

Some agents insist that this is a good idea.  Personally, I will greet the inspector and come back before he's finished to get a summary of what he found, but I don't generally stay for the inspection unless my clients ask me to.

Jan 09, 2015 06:47 AM
Rainer
279,878
Dipti Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
On a team with Praful Thakkar

It is a good idea for sure.

May 21, 2018 11:42 PM
Rainmaker
630,251
Ajay Pandya
e-Merge Real Estate Unlimited - Columbus, OH
Realtor Ajay Pandya

Good idea to have someone from buyer's side.

Jan 11, 2018 08:09 PM
Ambassador
6,357,499
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, KW Diversified - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Yes they should.

Oct 05, 2017 10:45 PM
Rainer
38,740
Steve Walny
Addison Wolfe Real Estate - New Hope, PA
. . . A Contrasting Point of View in Bucks County

One of the more disturbing responses I'd heard from an agent (very successful agent) was that she never attended her Seller's inspections so there could be "plausible denyability" for her, if anything ever came up down the road.  Wow - can you say lack of ethics as loudly as I did!!  

Jan 19, 2015 09:46 AM
Rainer
36,545
Robert Kennedy
Chase International - Zephyr Cove, NV

The answer depends on what kind of relationship you have with the inspector. If he or she is someone I know and have often worked with, I will make every effort to be present at the inspection. However, if the inspector is someone I don't know, I will contact him or her ahead of time and ask for permission to attend the inspection.  Most will agree, but some won't. My feeling is that some inspectors don't do their best work when a forigner is present. Every situation is different, so use your own best judgement.

Jan 15, 2015 12:08 PM
Rainer
2,430
Donna Davis
Escondido, CA

I always am at home inspections if I represent the buyer.  Often the seller is also present.  I want to be there so I can hear any conversation that might take place during the inspection.  I also want to be able to see any items that may be issues.  It is much easier to assist buyers through the inspection and request for repairs if you have been there during the inspection.

Jan 13, 2015 03:03 AM
Rainer
5,456
Linda DeFelice
Keller Williams - Woodbridge, VA

I always attend the inspection, and I also want my buyers there. That way everyone is on the same page! Don't leave anything to chance!

Jan 13, 2015 02:09 AM
Rainer
276,044
Susan Jacobsen
The Alliance Group Realty - Hilton Head Island, SC
20 Years Providing WOW Real Estate Service

Suzie - this can be such a sticky wicket! The short answer is that yes, I would advise you as the buyers' agent to be present - however, if there were items on the inspection report that were specific repairs, I don't take responsibility to examine the repairs - the buyer needs to arrange that the original inspector return to confirm that.

The story that I'll give you is that I had an out of town buyer. The kitchen faucet was reported to be leaking. The seller claimed that they had someone come and repair it. My buyers were not there and asked that I do the walk through. The faucet wasn't leaking. The buyer came into town two days later and lo and behold, the faucet was leaking. They demanded that I pay to repair it.

Jan 12, 2015 01:23 PM
Rainer
35,902
Joan Beduze
Keller Williams Realty Acadiana - Lafayette, LA

I always attend inspections;  and usually prefer that the buyer attends the last portion of it, and of  course the summary.  If time allows,  I try to fill out the Buyer's Response Form with the Buyer on site, as we go through each space,

which makes it easier to remember each item that they want to note.

Jan 12, 2015 07:15 AM
Rainer
258,273
Kathleen Frawley
Keller Williams 916 730-4404 Elk Grove, Wilton, Folsom, Sacramento - Wilton, CA
South County Sacramento, 916 730 4404

I have NEVER missed an inspection with my buyers.  I recommend that the buyers come about an hour after the inspection starts, so the inspector can get going with out distraction, but buyers sould not be left alone in the home, and sometimes they need reassurance during the process,

Jan 12, 2015 03:19 AM
Rainmaker
1,026,754
Margaret Woda
Long & Foster Real Estate, Inc. - Crofton, MD
Maryland Real Estate & Military Relocation

Buyer's agents typically do accompany their clients to inspections in my market, but seller's agents rarely do. I'm sure this practice varies from one area to another.

Jan 12, 2015 01:02 AM
Rainmaker
2,350,955
Lise Howe
Keller Williams Capital Properties - Washington, DC
Assoc. Broker in DC, MD, VA and attorney in DC

Great question - Here in the DC metro area it is expected that the buyer's agent (or another licensed person) will be at the inspection. We even have the seller's agent in attendance frequently. 

Jan 11, 2015 12:46 PM
Rainer
19,838
Cindy Dudley
Brockway Realty, LLC - League City, TX

 I try to be there for at least part of the inspection.  However, during a risk management class, we as a class was advised against attending for liability reasons.  The instructor went into case studies where things had happened during the inspection, and since the agent was present, they were help partly liable for the damage that occurred.

Jan 11, 2015 11:25 AM
Rainer
272,937
Richard Robibero, e-Pro, ABR, SRS
Panorama R.E. Limited - Toronto, ON
Selling Your Home as if it were My Own!

YES YES and YES! Not sure what else I can add that hasn't already been said. It's important to be around just in case. I'm not going to follow him up to the roof or watch him flush toilets (I know they do more I'm just being "funny") but if there's a major issue I want to get the full story.

Jan 10, 2015 09:33 PM
Rainmaker
969,448
Frank Rubi
Frank Rubi Real Estate, LLC - Metairie, LA
FrankRubiRealEstate.com

It is our office policy for the selling agent to be at all inspections.

Jan 10, 2015 09:02 AM
Rainmaker
1,247,886
Margaret Goss
@Properties - Winnetka, IL
Chicago's North Shore & Winnetka Real Estate

Have to be there - we can't allow buyers into homes without an agent present.  I suppose if the listing agent were there, the buyer's agent could skip it, but why would one do that?  It's part of the job to be there.

Jan 10, 2015 08:20 AM
Ambassador
5,033,416
Jeff Dowler, CRS
eXp Realty of California, Inc. - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

Definitely. How else can you truly represent your clinet's best interests. And as a listing agent I would not want a buyer in the house who is not accompanied by their agent.

Jan 10, 2015 06:36 AM
Rainmaker
1,706,465
Tammie White, Broker
Franklin Homes Realty LLC - Franklin, TN
Franklin TN Homes for Sale

In Tennessee, inspectors have their own Sentricard to gain access to a home. I used to be present for the entire inspection and found the inspector felt like I was slowing him down. Now, I tell my clients to meet me for the last 45 minutes or so of the inspection. That way, we don't get under foot but the inspector can SHOW us the problem areas in addition to receiving them in his report. This also gives me an opportunity to take additional photos if necessary.

Jan 09, 2015 11:35 PM
Rainmaker
977,386
Brigita McKelvie, Associate Broker
Cindy Stys Equestrian and Country Properties, Ltd. - Lehigh Valley, PA
The Broker with horse sense and no horsing around

I am not usually present for the home inspections unless the Buyer requests I be there with them.  I always stress to the the Buyers to attend the home inspection so they can understand exactly what the issue is.  Plus, they can also ask questions for any concerns they may have.

Jan 09, 2015 10:44 PM
Rainmaker
637,976
Scott Fogleman
Richmond, VA

No.We have the buyers there for the qwhole insections and we arrive before thesummary. Most inspectors do a summary. Where we can ask them to show us the issues and discuss it with the buyers. This allows us to know the results and what needs to be addressed.

Jan 09, 2015 08:33 PM
Rainmaker
284,818
Keji Ogunleye
Fairfax Realty, Inc - Greenbelt, MD
GRI, SFR, KejiYour Realtor

I always attend the inspection,many times I may not stay till the end but I'm always there for at least 40mins or so..

Jan 09, 2015 05:36 PM
Rainmaker
750,057
Rob D. Shepherd
RETIRED - Florence, OR
RETIRED

I always show for the last 1/2 hour to see what is discovered and clarify things while the inspector is still there.

Jan 09, 2015 11:34 AM
Rainmaker
5,850,301
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

In Denver, the buyers, buyer's agent and inspector are the only ones attending the inspection.   On occasion the Seller doesn't want to leave, but most listing agents encourage them to be out of the home for a few hours. 

Jan 09, 2015 09:35 AM
Rainmaker
443,220
Cindy Davis
SD Home Source Realty - San Diego, CA

Absolutely! Inpsections are critial to the success of a transaction. Learning about the issues of the home, and putting them in context for the buyer is important. I think a buyer's agent should always be present at inspections.

Jan 09, 2015 03:55 AM