ActiveRain Success Stories

Ross Quintana, Real E Smarter Real Estate Coach - 509-362-1966 (Real E Smarter): Education & Training in Spokane, WA Ross Quintana, Real E Smarter Real Estate Coach - 509-362-1966 (Real E Smarter) said over 6 years ago,
"I have been blogging now for a while and am just over the 150,000 point mark. That seems like so much now, but looking back it is just a series of communications. My blog is mostly helping agents with marketing and business tips, but the google juice I have gotten is pretty good also. I still feel like there is a huge world of knowledge out there for me to still explore. I enjoy the sense of community it provides and being able to tap into the shared information of agents all over the country."
"Tommy" Decebal, Adamescu Long Island NY MASTER Home Inspector (HomeSpector Inc.  516-851-5833): Home Inspector in Farmingdale, NY "Tommy" Decebal, Adamescu Long Island NY MASTER Home Inspector (HomeSpector Inc. 516-851-5833) said over 6 years ago,
"Active Rain community is my favorite of all online real estate marketing, blogging, socializing and networking places since I first heard of it and joined it. It did help me a lot both online with a broad exposure and in real life, creating a starting point to many friendships and networking relations. And I just love the points system. It's sooo much fun. I'd say just a little better than playing poker. And instead of loosing money, you just gain: free exposure and unlimited growth potential. The rest is just up to us. Good luck to all! Gain as much as you can!
Thank you Active Rain founders and members for Everything. Tommy, http://HomeSpectorInc.com"
Paul Guenther, Empire West Title- Chandler, AZ (Empire West Title Agency): Title Insurance in Chandler, AZ Paul Guenther, Empire West Title- Chandler, AZ (Empire West Title Agency) said over 6 years ago,
"Active Rain has allowed me to help others learn the power of the blog! Thanks active rain for giving us a tool to show Realtors how they can empower themselves through the written word.

Wow an update! I am meeting rainers in real life! I also posted a blog asking for advice on webpages and I am still sifting and researching all the responses I received. A VALUABLE RESOURCE! that is how I sum up Active Rain.

Another update... I had a local Realtor approach me this week and thank me for introducing them to Active Rain. They said they had 4 strong leads the first 2 weeks they have been a member. NICE!!

And Yet another Update!! I think I have been on Active rain for 3.5+ Years now! I have been to a raincamp, I have met and socialized with others from ActiveRain. This website continues to be a good source of business for me.

Here is another update! I was trying to get an appointment with a REALTOR... When they started researching me they found out I was a rainmaker and told their assistant they would meet with me. Cool ActiveRain carries some klout"
Stephen Gaudet (Gaudet Inspections): Home Inspector in Manchester, NH Stephen Gaudet (Gaudet Inspections) said over 6 years ago,
"As a home inspector my job is to educate the client and find any costly problems associated with the home I am expecting. This inspection did both, I was called to inspected a small 1600 sq. ft. ranch, built in 1974, on a slab foundation. At some point the house had electric heat, two electrical meter boxes. One meter was missing so I assumed the house was upgraded from electric heat.

The buyer is also the tenant of the property and has been living in the home for approximately one year. The owner of the property purchased the home in 2005 and the electrical heat sources were already removed prior to sale.

During the inspection I start scanning the interior of the home with my thermal imaging camera. I notice radiant heat in the ceiling. Since the buyer has been living in the property I asked her if she knew she had radiant heat in the ceiling. Her response was no, and surprise, she informed me her electric bills were extremely high, more than $250 a month.

More important, she wanted to know why she couldn’t feel the radiant heat. The problem has to do with vaulted ceilings, and lack of ceiling fans. Radiant heat in ceilings was a flawed design because as we all know warm air rises. Therefore, the heat the ceiling tiles give off stays trapped along the ceiling.

After a thorough inspection of the home I was unable to find the power source for the radiant heat. The only thermostat in the home is for a gas stove. The second heat source is a space heater in the master bedroom. No additional thermostats, no empty junction boxes on the walls, no marked circuit breakers. Marked or not I started terminating circuit breakers in the main panel to no avail. This leads me to believe that the radiant heat is hardwired somewhere. Worse it may be on 24/7, 365 days a year.

The owner of the home has known of the high electric costs and hired electrician to review the main panel years past. Unfortunately the electrician was unable to find any problems.

I think you can agree this is a perfect example of how thermal imaging is an asset in a home inspection identifying problems that cannot be seen by the naked eye. This problem has been ongoing for approximately 8 years costing the homeowner and now the tenant high electric bills.

While I was unable to find the circuit causing the problem I was able to find the problem. The buyer of the property will follow up with an electrician to find the power source and rectify the problem.

My client called me back to help the electrician see the radiant heat. Appears the electrician wanted to leave without fixing it. Using my thermal camera in the attic space the electrician saw the radiant heat and killed the circuit saving the homeowner/buyer more than $100.00+ a month in electric bills.

As the saying goes "your only as good as the tools you use".

http://www.gaudethomeinspections.com/content/thermal-imaging-finds-costly-problem"
Sally K. & David L. Hanson, WI Realtors - Luxury - Divorce  (EXP Realty 414-525-0563): Real Estate Agent in Brookfield, WI Sally K. & David L. Hanson, WI Realtors - Luxury - Divorce (EXP Realty 414-525-0563) said over 6 years ago,
"We found our "new home" at Keller Williams thru Active Rain...WOW....a storm of good fortune we welcome every day !

Thru Active Rain, we met a realtor in northwestern Wisconsin to whom we referred a listing, she successfully and quickly sold the home and our buyers were free to buy a home as our buyers in southeastern Wisconsin.

Four short sale sellers found us on Active Rain and were saved from Foreclosure as a result of our blogs !
We Found our NEW HOME at Keller Williams on Active Rain....How Cooool is that ?

We took the CDPE (Certifed Distressed Property Expert) Course through reading blogs of testimonials speaking to the credability and course content. As a result...we traveled to Florida, took the course and are far better educated and prepared to deal with the challenges of specializing in Short sales as a part of practice. No matter what you want to know...you can find someone willing to share, willing to help on the Rain. Turn that umbrella upside down and catch all the information, knowledge, experience you cap..it's more than a leg up...it's a career elevation !

Our blogs on Short Sales have enabled us to refer both residential and commercial short sales to experts we have met "in the Rain" throughout the country. It's a win, win for everyone in the Rain !

We recently received a referral and when asked how we were chosen it was because the agent felt he knew us from reading our blogs on Active Rain...thank you AR...!"
Colnel William: Real Estate Agent in Mentone, IN Colnel William said over 6 years ago,
"Hi, I am a insurance agent.I have aKia Warranty.It is a good plan for every one."
Joseph Houghton, MN Property Group (RE/MAX Results): Real Estate Agent in Minneapolis, MN Joseph Houghton, MN Property Group (RE/MAX Results) said over 6 years ago,
"I have found active rain to be an extremely effective way to dialogue with people in the real estate community and learn from and with top real estate agents throughout the country. It has been a great way to get other peoples opinions and advice as well as help other people answer their questions and deal with their real estate concerns."
Jennifer Mackay, Your Bay County Florida Realtor 850.774.6582 (Counts Real Estate Group, Inc.): Real Estate Agent in Panama City, FL Jennifer Mackay, Your Bay County Florida Realtor 850.774.6582 (Counts Real Estate Group, Inc.) said over 6 years ago,
"Through the years I've been active on AR, I have met many wonderful people. The referrals I've received from the many agents that stay in contact with me are always top notch and greatly appreciated.

Keeping in touch with other agents and providing the finest customer service to the customers they refer to me is my continuing success story.

I look forward to many more years in assisting not only my own customers and clients, but those of the many agents that continue to recommend me to their customers. It's the greatest compliment one agent can give another and I am deeply thankful."
Jordon Wheeler, J W Group Real Estate Sales and Service (The Jordon Wheeler Group): Real Estate Broker/Owner in Fairburn, GA Jordon Wheeler, J W Group Real Estate Sales and Service (The Jordon Wheeler Group) said over 6 years ago,
"Today I had my first closing from a lead that came directly from ActiveRain. I wrote several posts about down payment assistance and help with closing costs using the Georgia Dream Homeownership Program and that is how my buyer found me. In our initial discussion we talked his relocating from another state to Georgia to take a teaching position at a college in downtown Atlanta. He was undecided on buying in Fairburn versus buying a condo downtown. He finally went with the condo downtown. We closed on a fabulous condo with Buckhead views, and he is very happy. He has already referred another buyer to me.
Thanks AR for making this platform available to agents and brokers like myself. I look forward to more success in the Rain!

Last month I had my second closing as a result of the posts I wrote on AR about down payment assistance. I originally met the client in December of 2011. We immediately began to work together getting his financing in order with a recommended lender and finding the perfect two bedroom condo unit for him downtown. After a year long search, several offers on units in Atlantic Station and Twelve Centennial, we finally landed a deal on a unit in Twelve Centennial. The unit has the most wonderful unobstructed view facing north looking out on the city of Atlanta. This unit not only serves as a great home but also represents a smart investment for a future sale. Thank you AR for helping to to connect me with this buyer."
Todd  Probasco, Regional Manager  (American Financial Network NMLS ID 232536): Mortgage and Lending in Orland Park, IL Todd Probasco, Regional Manager (American Financial Network NMLS ID 232536) said over 6 years ago,
"After working hard to do what is right for my clients and employees I was honored to win the 2005 Illinois Mortgage Broker/Owner of the Year Award."
Michael Gendreau, Edina Realty (Edina Realty): Real Estate Agent in White Bear Lake, MN Michael Gendreau, Edina Realty (Edina Realty) said over 6 years ago,
"Active Rain I love it, when ever I need to learn or research an idea or problem I have I go to Active Rain. It is a great source of knowledge and proffesionals. I am learning each day on what I can do with Active rain."
Tom Harding, Certiied CREIA Inspector (TH Inspection Services): Home Inspector in Lancaster, CA Tom Harding, Certiied CREIA Inspector (TH Inspection Services) said over 6 years ago,
"Whenever I perform a home inspection in So. California for your clients I will be offering Home Owners Network & RecallChek with each home inspection. Home Owners Network is “live technical support for your home”. RecallChek lets the client know if there are any recalls on the major appliances in the home. Now all you have to do is use TH Inspection Services as your inspection company so I can market you and your business to each past client on a monthly basis. I look forward to helping your business grow, when you use TH Inspection Services.
http://www.thinspectionservices.com"
Jennifer  Ricco (JohnHart Real Estate): Real Estate Agent in Santa Clarita, CA Jennifer Ricco (JohnHart Real Estate) said over 6 years ago,
"We have had great success with ActiveRain as another way to reach out to those seeking real estate knowledge. The blogs that my husband Gary and I consistantly write and post continue to educate both home buyers and home sellers. We don't just talk about Santa Clarita's beautiful surroundings but go into depth about the current real estate market. Our goal is to provide value and education to anyone who reads my blogs. Other real estate professionals from around the country take the time to read and comment on my blogs and have referred their clients to our team through ActiveRain."
Sonsie Conroy, Energetic, Enthusiastic, Knowledgeable Realtor (I serve buyers and sellers everywhere in San Luis Obispo County): Real Estate Agent in San Luis Obispo, CA Sonsie Conroy, Energetic, Enthusiastic, Knowledgeable Realtor (I serve buyers and sellers everywhere in San Luis Obispo County) said over 6 years ago,
"Thanks to a personal referral through ActiveRain, I worked with a wonderful couple moving 3000 miles from the eastern coast to sleepy little San Luis Obispo, both to live and to open a bakery. I found them a great condo and the perfect setup for a bakery, with an established clientele and a long, low-rent lease. I am so thankful for AR, and the relationships I have built!"
Kimberly M Addelman, Kim Addelman-Williamsville,New York- Realty USA (Realty USA): Real Estate Agent in Williamsville, NY Kimberly M Addelman, Kim Addelman-Williamsville,New York- Realty USA (Realty USA) said over 6 years ago,
"As a newbie to AR I must admit I'm still getting my sea legs. I owe a round of applause to all you AR contributors! I am picking up great tips not only for Real Estate (but for life as we know it..."Surviving Your Serengetti"). My success? I have added the "missing blogging" piece to my business. I am determined to blog on a regular basis and AR keeps me focused. I am making some great new contacts and my regular blog posts are a well received addition to my web site. The positive feedback on my posts from clients and my sphere is resulting in new business and generating referrals from past clients! Looking forward to continued success -and thanks for the push in a new direction!"
Peter Michelbach, i Sell Real Estate: Real Estate Agent in International, IT Peter Michelbach, i Sell Real Estate said over 6 years ago,
"Being grateful for the many silent friends from AR!"
Jason Bell, Jason Bell, Broker (Focus Matters Realty): Real Estate Agent in Wilmington, NC Jason Bell, Jason Bell, Broker (Focus Matters Realty) said over 6 years ago,
"I am delighted to be a part of the active rain community, and look forward to some great blogs!"
Cara Marcelle Mancuso, Call a Marana neighbor, I'm THERE!     LONG REALTY (Long Realty - Dove Mountain, Marana AZ): Real Estate Agent in Tucson, AZ Cara Marcelle Mancuso, Call a Marana neighbor, I'm THERE! LONG REALTY (Long Realty - Dove Mountain, Marana AZ) said over 6 years ago,
"Reciprocity - What I've Learned with 150,000 Points on Active Rain

With this post, I will be passing the 150,000 points benchmark as a rainmaker in Active Rain. I've given a lot of thought to it this week as I reflect on the changes I've made in my business, online profile, and even personal life since becoming an active blogger in June of 2010.

First off, I recommend blogging to anyone who can put a few thoughts down on paper. (or computer) I started out sharing what I loved about my community, occasionally dared to express an opinion about something, and posted about events and activities around Tucson and Marana, AZ. I quickly discovered my "voice" and found that I preferred a Localism approach versus statistics, educational, or a more serious tone. I try to type in the same manner as if I were talking to you in person.

It's really fun. I don't have to be a superwriter to be a "published" author. I don't have to be an expert to share what I know and love. I just have to be myself. Certainly you, the lurker, the reader, the technologically timid...can be yourself and share it with others.

Secondly, this blogging has become like a bicycle wheel, with AR at its hub. The spokes include LinkedIn, Facebook, Flickr, Photobucket, StumbleUpon, YouTube, Vlogging, Twitter, Twellow, Yelp, Blogspot...each week I add another spoke or shine up the one I have. This morning I spent my usual Facebook time connecting through StumbleUpon and learning about how our online presence can grow in yet another direction through reciprocity. Reciprocity is so important, I shared about that in another post.

Now, I'm not a tekkie. It doesn't come easy to me and my patience only seems to extend to others, not to myself. But here's the funny part. IF I invest the time, the LEADS come easy to me!

In six months, I've received countless telephone calls about community events - becoming an advocate for Tucson and Marana, if you will. I am systematically connecting with my Chamber of Commerce connections and networking within my sphere. I've attended dozens of events I would never had known about had I not become a "local reporter" through my posts. I've connected to prospects through Facebook, LinkedIn, MyListingWidgit videos and more. I've received calls/emails and closed transactions with clients found through Active Rain.

In less than a year, in a town overwhelmed with Real Estate Agents, I'm making a mark. I'm climbing the leaderboards and rising in the Google ranks.

But, this isn't about me. This is about an invitation to you, the public. To you, my fellow agents in Tucson and Marana and Oro Valley. (and beyond) Competition? Perhaps, but we all connect to different folks, and I think there's enough to go around. But if I connect to you, and you connect to another...you can see how we begin to grow together in this thing called reciprocity. It's the biggest single point I've learned on Active Rain since last summer -- in meeting so many great people and professionals all across the United States.

Reciprocity. Active Rain is full of it. Shared knowledge, entertainment, and friendship.

Hop on board and start your own journey towards 150,000 points. I personally invite you."
Dave Keys, Chief Search Strategist Real Estate SEO Expert (MOVE UP in Google Search Learn How Here): Services for Real Estate Pros in Brea, CA Dave Keys, Chief Search Strategist Real Estate SEO Expert (MOVE UP in Google Search Learn How Here) said over 6 years ago,
"ActiveRain brought me my first real estate SEO client. It was easy. ActiveRain made me look like the top authority along with my copyrighting and content creation of course. That client is still with me today."
John Pusa,  Your All Time Realtor With Exceptional Service  (Berkshire Hathaway Home Services Crest): Real Estate Agent in Glendale, CA John Pusa, Your All Time Realtor With Exceptional Service (Berkshire Hathaway Home Services Crest) said over 6 years ago,
"I gain more recognition in real estate industry, since I joined ActiveRain nearly four years ago.
I always enjoy reading and commenting on blogs written by ActiveRain's members. My success story is learning, expanding and being part of Active Rain community. I learn a lot from Active Rain Community members, and ActiveRain provides an excellent service to the real estate industry.

Thank you,

John Pusa"