ActiveRain Success Stories

Courtney Brown, Realtor (S) Vice President, Live a Maui Life!  (Island Sotheby's International Realty): Real Estate Agent in Lahaina, HI Courtney Brown, Realtor (S) Vice President, Live a Maui Life! (Island Sotheby's International Realty) said over 6 years ago,
"Active Rain has helped me to become a more knowledgeable realtor. By providing me with a network of contacts, connections, and information on a wider real estate community, I have found that I am more focused at work. I've found it to be an invaluable resource as I endeavor to learn more about the ever changing impact of technology on my business. I have used AR to do research, pose questions to the group for feedback, and keep an eye on what other professionals are doing to provide their clients with the best service."
Sean Williams, Your Louisville Realtor (AcklesWilliams of Semonin Realtors): Real Estate Agent in Louisville, KY Sean Williams, Your Louisville Realtor (AcklesWilliams of Semonin Realtors) said over 6 years ago,
"My clients bought a new construction home back in 2007 however had to move to Idaho for a job transfer shortly after. After a downturn in the market it become appearant to them that they would be forced into a short sale situation.

They decided to look up an agent on GOOGLE in the Louisville, Kentucky area and because of my blogging on ActiveRain over the previous 6 months, I was one of the top agents that was listed and eventually got the listing! Of course not every agent would be thrilled about a short sale, however this home was essentialy brand new and still in great shape!

Needless to say...after 2 weeks on the market, an offer that was withdrawn, and then receiving a second offer...we were able to close the deal in 36 days! (Kudos to J.P. Morgan Chase!). Oddly enough we closed on February 29th (Leap Year) and I received my commission check partly in due to ActiveRain.

ActiveRain has now become an essential part of my real estate business as it allows me to set myself apart from other agents and be found easier in a world filled with technology and a continous fight for online space. I already have other clients that I have met because of their ability to find me online and through Google searches because of my blogs through ActiveRain. Hopefully I will be closing with them soon as well!"
Margie Kehr, Broker Associate (Keller Williams Avenues Realty): Real Estate Agent in Arvada, CO Margie Kehr, Broker Associate (Keller Williams Avenues Realty) said over 6 years ago,
"Active Rain allows for my ideas and experiences regarding Real Estate to be heard. I look forward to growing my blog and sharing with other Agents and gaining advice as well as giving. So far I find The Active Rain Community to be professional and understanding of the Market."
Clint Mckie, Desert Sun Home, Comm. Inspection 1-575-706-5586 (Desert Sun Home, commercial Inspections): Home Inspector in Carlsbad, NM Clint Mckie, Desert Sun Home, Comm. Inspection 1-575-706-5586 (Desert Sun Home, commercial Inspections) said over 6 years ago,
"I was at a R/E office the other day and I heard someone say "HEY I KNOW YOU" I've seen you on ACTIVE RAIN. Welcome and come on in. I have since been doing inspections for this R/E office.

Mrs Brawn called me from out of town. She told me they had purchased a home (made an offer) in Boulder Colorado. She told me she was a follower of Active Rain, and she liked the posts by me. She asked me to inspect the home they were to purchase in Boulder. I told her I was not licensed in Colorado, but I could recommend an inspector there. She was really grateful. I did and the inspector did a great job for her. She then wanted me to collect a "finders fee" but I told her she didn't have to pay it. Helping the client is what My company was all about. They have since moved to Boulder Colorado, but they left word with the senior community that we provide excellent service. I have gotten a couple of calls for my efforts. Go Active Rain.

Mr. Rodriquez was skeptical at first. His realtor told him he did not need a home inspection. But he called me anyway. After the home was inspected and i found the water heater was operating at only 45% efficiency. He had it added to the contract the water heater was to be replaced before the closing. It was and saved Mr. Rodriquez about $800.00 in the replacement costs. This savings far out weighed the cost for a Home Inspection.

Mr. Thomas from Artesia New Mexico. I have purchased a home in Artesia New Mexico. I had Clint with Desert Sun Inspections Inspect the home I wanted to purchase. After the inspection Clint sat down with me and explained everything to me. Glad I had him inspect the home. He found the following,
No GFI breakers in the Baths or Kit.
No ground on plugs in the "older section" of the home.
A vent pipe on the roof, that was missing. Letting water in.
No insulation in the attic.
Faucet in 2nd bath was defective.
After taking these concerns to the seller. We negotiated a repair list and these Items were taken care of.
It saved me over 1,500.00 dollars. It only cost me $300.00 for the inspection so it saved me $1,200.00 in actual costs for the home being repaired.
Thanks so much ,Clint for being so diligent. R. Thomas

Thanks' to Active Rain, I have found more "new client's" than ever before.
Thanks' Active Rain.
Clint McKie

The phone rang and I was working. I answered it and it was an Inspection company from Houston Texas. They needed a Inspector in the Carlsbad New Mexico area for some home inspections for a insurance company. They needed some inspections completed as soon as possible. I agreed to do them and when I asked where the got my name and number to call, They said they got it from the Active Rain Site.
How cool is that. Now I do inspections for them on a monthly basis.
thank you Active Rain.
Another new client from Active Rain. Yes Mr. Irving found me on the Active Rain site. He had me inspect his Geodesic home he was looking into buying. Things went great and now the Realtor is useuing me as well.
Thanks for the exposure Active Rain, Clint McKie
Active Rain has been a god send. Since I have been on Active Rain, there has been a lot of inspection companies looking for a local inspector. They found my name in the Active Rain system and now I do work for them weekly.
Thanks Active Rain.
Hello Mr. McKie,
This is Mr. Irving, I did go ahead and buy the geodesic home in Carlsbad, New Mexico. I just wanted to tell you that you are the only inspector I would ever recommend to a home buyer. After three inspections "yours being the fourth" the other inspectors did not find much of anything. When I looked at the old reports two hand written. I didn't see half the stuff you found. We did have the A/C fixed and it's working great now. This was a big deal, because it cost the seller about $750.00 to repair. Then the water leaks were reapired too. A cost of $450.00. The relief valve drip leg was installed to the outside of the home at a cost of $200.00. All of the screens were replaces a cost of $400.00. A total cost of $1,600.00 . I just want to thank you for the good inspection and for your honesty with the inspection. I will not hesitate to recommend you when a buyer wants to get a home inspection. Thanks again, and thank you to Active Rain too.
Sincerly yours, Mr. Irving, C hill Geodesic.

I got a call from a Realtor that has a agency out of town, thye are looking for a new inspector for the agency. I gave him all the information about my inspection services. Now I have added another agency to the Real Estate agencys I represent. Thank you Lois Oliver Real Estate, Artesia, New Mexico.

Posting on the Active Rain site has produced a lot of new client's. When I asked where they found me they say "I found you on Active Rain".
A great way to find and keep new customers. Clint McKie

New home buying and Active Rain goes hand in hand. Since I have been posting on Active Rain I have been receiving more and more calls for new construction homes. Posting on Active Rain has helped Desert Sun Home Inspections A lot. Clint McKie Owner of Desert Sun Home Inspections

Active Rain has been an excellent source for my readers. These posts not only educate the members of the Active rain Network of professionals. But it also helps the general public make an informed decision on Who has the right amount of experience to get the inspection done correctly the first time and every time.
Thank you Active rain. Clint McKie"
Brian L. Sirota, Esq., For Solutions:  (714) 501-7660 (Bristar Realty  (Realtor/Attorney)): Real Estate Broker/Owner in Orange, CA Brian L. Sirota, Esq., For Solutions: (714) 501-7660 (Bristar Realty (Realtor/Attorney)) said over 6 years ago,
"I have been used as a resource for Activerain members and their clients in my capacity as both a Realtor and Attorney!"
CJ  Johnson, Sales Consultant - Build On Your Lot @ DWH (David Weekley Homes ): Real Estate Sales Representative in San Antonio, TX CJ Johnson, Sales Consultant - Build On Your Lot @ DWH (David Weekley Homes ) said over 6 years ago,
"I had a client walk in to my real estate office and ask for some information. He worked for a large video game company in Los Angeles and was looking of a home in my tiny town of Tehachapi to get away from it all. As it turned out we worked together for several months while he cleaned ups some credit issues. He did use my services and purchsed a home. Later he told me that after that first day he met me he went home and checked me out on Active Rain. He liked that I was on AR blogging as he was in the technology industry and it showed that I was a little on the techy side. I made a sale and a friend that day. Thanks AR."
Bethany Wilcox (Focus Real Estate Group, Inc.): Real Estate Agent in Gainesville, FL Bethany Wilcox (Focus Real Estate Group, Inc.) said over 6 years ago,
"Active Rain is instrumental in bringing real estate agents together with lenders, home stagers, land surveyors and other professionals agents must rely on to get deals done and keep clients happy. Activerain is also a great resource to create an online presence and help people find you!"
Lisa Rees, Coldwell Banker Reilly & Sons Real Estate Agent (Coldwell Banker Reilly & Sons): Real Estate Agent in Lansing, KS Lisa Rees, Coldwell Banker Reilly & Sons Real Estate Agent (Coldwell Banker Reilly & Sons) said over 6 years ago,
"I have got an incredible amount of business from ActiveRain. I usually link my blog post up with my FaceBook business page and have found that this gives me great results. I might not have people directly respond to my business page but when I see them out in the community - they almost always say something about my post."
Nick T Pappas, Madison & Huntsville Alabama Real Estate Resource  (Assoc. Broker/Broker ABR, CRS, SFR, e-Pro, @Homes Realty Group, @HomesBirmingham & Providence Property Mgmnt, LLC Huntsville  AL): Real Estate Agent in Huntsville, AL Nick T Pappas, Madison & Huntsville Alabama Real Estate Resource (Assoc. Broker/Broker ABR, CRS, SFR, e-Pro, @Homes Realty Group, @HomesBirmingham & Providence Property Mgmnt, LLC Huntsville AL) said over 6 years ago,
"Being relatively new to ActiveRain, I don't have stories of wild success, stacks of referral check stubs, or the respect and admiration of an adoring and doteing real estate community. Initially, I joined ActiveRain because I was told you have to do it...it's a great social network and the potential for referrals is real. Well, it is a terrific social network and I do know other agents who have accepted referrals from other Rainers. Given time I"m confident that I too will give and receive future referrals.

My experience in ActiveRain has not been quite what I was expecting. I did not expect to get to know, be friends and comfortable with so many people that for the most part have only been revealed to me by their comments, stories and "pictures". I did not expect to wake up in the morning wondering if anyone has left me a message or commented on a post. If maybe someone has a buyer for a posted listing of mine or if a Rainer from a city or state that I used to live in, writes me to talk about points of interest or common knowledge of that place.

I've always thought these things to be silly notions or something that I would not want to be involved in...okay, I was wrong!!

So no referrals yet and that is ok, but I have met some outstanding people and learned much from this community from people willing to share. So, my ActiveRain success story thus far is the people I've met, things I've learned and knowing that this success story is always one in progress."
Joe Gonzalez, NMLS# 126036 (610) 739-6563 (CrossCountry Mortgage, LLC NMLS #3029): Mortgage and Lending in King of Prussia, PA Joe Gonzalez, NMLS# 126036 (610) 739-6563 (CrossCountry Mortgage, LLC NMLS #3029) said over 6 years ago,
"January 2008 - I join Active Rain, blogged a bunch, didn't make a dime from blogging & said it was a waste.
February 2011 - I start networking with Chik Quintans from Seattle. (Chik is an AR Disciple). Okay so maybe I did it wrong, let me get back into this. Of course my Marketing Coordinator Mike is telling me we need to do this. I say don't waste too much time on it. We'll look into it further.

March 2011 - I sign up for a Rainmaker account, take a class with Steve Graham & I'm hooked. I post a few blogs & I'm showing up on #1 on google instantly. Okay so maybe blogging isn't a waste. Just maybe we have to do this more often.

Oh yeah, I get a lead from someone who found me on google.

April 2011 - Raincamp - best $100 I've spent EVER for a seminar. Active Rain is officially a requirement for all of my clients. At last night's networking event, the few minutes we spent with Brad Andershon of Zillow.com was just as productive. We need to maximize it!!"
Bob & Bonnie Horning: Industry Observer in Mount Joy, PA Bob & Bonnie Horning said over 6 years ago,
"I constantly see people and they tell me they read my blog. They most times aren't even members of AR but yet they read without commenting. So you just never really know the reach you have with Active R a i n!"
Team Metherall, Team Metherall (RE/MAX All-Stars Realty Inc. Keswick, Brokerage): Real Estate Agent in Keswick, ON Team Metherall, Team Metherall (RE/MAX All-Stars Realty Inc. Keswick, Brokerage) said over 6 years ago,
"Homes for sale and real estate info in Keswick, Georgina & Surrounding Area."
Monica Foster, Broker, CRS, ABR, SRS, CHMS, CNE, CNHS (Monica Foster Team of eXp Realty): Real Estate Agent in League City, TX Monica Foster, Broker, CRS, ABR, SRS, CHMS, CNE, CNHS (Monica Foster Team of eXp Realty) said over 6 years ago,
"I joined Active Rain in June 2008, after switching markets in January 2008 from Dallas to Houston and literally starting my business over. I was looking for avenues to get my name out there because I didn't know too many people in my new market and had only had a handful of closings at that point. I logged in, blogged about things I wanted to share and in February 2009, I got my first referral from another agent whose good friend's kids were interested in buying a home in my area. I gladly accepted (who wouldn't, right?!) and in 2 months, I earned myself a $6k commission with a $10k Bonus from a builder. How's that for a success story? Being a member earned me $16k in less than 9 months of being in the Rain!!"
Jay McHugh, YOUR SendOutCard Mentor (SendOutCards-Appreciation Marketing Expert): Education & Training in Boston, MA Jay McHugh, YOUR SendOutCard Mentor (SendOutCards-Appreciation Marketing Expert) said over 6 years ago,
"ActiveRain has continued my education and leadership skills through an open source of sharing and caring.....

I highly recommend folks get involved to the level they are comfortable with and see great improvement in 2013....

Thanks ActiveRain...."
Luke Constantino, Residential/Commercial Real Estate Brooklyn NY  (Brooklyn/Manhattan Real Estate): Managing Real Estate Broker in Brooklyn, NY Luke Constantino, Residential/Commercial Real Estate Brooklyn NY (Brooklyn/Manhattan Real Estate) said over 6 years ago,
"I never knew how great AR would be until I joined. From the beginning I was networked nationwide and beyond. I have made alot of great friends, gotten a ton of buying/selling referrals and sold a few houses from Active Rain!

I guess you can say I'm "Singing in the rain!""
Joe Romero, Joe (Advance Windows And Doors): Services for Real Estate Pros in Los Angeles, CA Joe Romero, Joe (Advance Windows And Doors) said over 6 years ago,
"Have you ever wished to make the view from your kitchen window something special? If yes, You can make it with Milgard's vinyl garden window that are available at an offer price of just $1499 with installation. Grab this opportunity by calling offices nearest to you or by visiting http://www.advancewindowsanddoors.com/manufacturers.php?id=29"
Kathy McGraw, Riverside County CA Real Estate (CELLing Realty): Real Estate Broker/Owner in White Water, CA Kathy McGraw, Riverside County CA Real Estate (CELLing Realty) said over 6 years ago,
"Since joining Active Rain I have both given and received several referrals, met Brokers and Agents in my area, and developed some of the best networking ever. The resources are invaluable for helping the people that are buying or selling their properties."
Lisa Friedman, 30 Years of Real Estate Experience! (Great American Dream Realty): Real Estate Broker/Owner in Essex, VT Lisa Friedman, 30 Years of Real Estate Experience! (Great American Dream Realty) said over 6 years ago,
"In my career as a Realtor, I have been blessed to make many great acquaintances through the Active Rain network. From buyers to sellers, to fellow Realtors and mortgage reps, my experiences here on Active Rain have been top notch. I look forward to sharing more education and experiences within the community throughout the years!"
Anna N. Ryan, President (Platinum Mortgage Company & Platinum Realty): Mortgage and Lending in Roseville, CA Anna N. Ryan, President (Platinum Mortgage Company & Platinum Realty) said over 6 years ago,
"Why us? We will give you the best rate! In the past there were many loan programs. Good loan consultants helped choose a loan that best fit their clients' needs. Today, many loan programs have vanished. Also, because of risk, fixed loans are most in demand. Less programs and fixed loan popularity means less consulting. So before you go with the company that preaches great service, take a look at our great rates. Great service today is getting your loan approved. Our site reflects how we do business. We have nothing to hide. You can get live rates without giving any personal information."
John Mosier, Prescott's Patriot Agent  928 533-8142 (Realty ONE Group Mountain Desert): Real Estate Agent in Prescott, AZ John Mosier, Prescott's Patriot Agent 928 533-8142 (Realty ONE Group Mountain Desert) said over 6 years ago,
"I opened my account with Active Rain in 2007 but never got involved in it or made any posts. In the fall of 2009, Ben Kinney made a stop here in Prescott to make a 3-hour presentation on social media. I took notes, I got excited and I wrote my first "long tail" blog post. I had several transactions that involved buyers looking for a home in a neighborhood that would permit RV parking. I wrote my first thoughtful blog post: "Prescott, AZ RV Neighborhoods." The very next day my article was #1 on Google on those search words. When I checked today, my post is still #1. Granted, not everyone will search on these words, but if they do, I WILL BE THE MAN!"